

Appendix A - Evidence

Submissions

Number	Organisation
1	The Warren Centre
2	VicRoads
3	Intelligent Transport Systems Australia (ITS)
4	Raytheon Australia
5	Department of Transport and Regional Services (DOTARS)
6	Saab ITS Pty Ltd
7	Intelligent Transport Systems Australia (ITS)
	[Supplementary submission to no 3]

Exhibit

1 Letter tabled by Mr McIntosh, dated 13 August to the Chief Scientist, Department of Education, Science and Training at a briefing in Sydney, 14 August 2002.

Public hearing

Wednesday, 25 September 2002 - Canberra

Department of Transport and Regional Services

Mr Joe Motha Director Safety Research and Education Australian Transport Safety Bureau Mr John Goldsworthy Project Manager Safety Research and Education Australian Transport Safety Bureau

Mr Tony Griffiths Director Technology Team

Mr Graham Evans Assistant Director Technology Team

Ms Danielle Aeuckens Assistant Director Technology Team

Inspections and Briefings

Sydney - Wednesday, 14 August 2002

Inspections

The committee conducted an inspection of the facilities of the Roads and Transport Authority Traffic Management Centre and held discussions with Authority staff.

Briefings

Mr Brent Stafford Executive Director Intelligent Transport Systems Australia

Mr Peter Bentley Board Member Intelligent Transport Systems Australia

Mr Lauchlan McIntosh Past President Intelligent Transport Systems Australia, and Executive Director Automobile Association of Australia

Sydney - Thursday, 15 August 2002

Briefings

Dr Nariida Smith CSIRO Transport Futures

Mr Robert Mitchell General Manager Warren Centre

Mr Ken Dobinson Project Director Warren Centre

Mr James Lawson Jigsaw Property Group Warren Centre

Mr Bert Prinsloo PPK Environment and Infrastructure Warren Centre

Mr Alan Finlay NRMA Ltd Warren Centre

Mr Keith Pettigrew Sinclair Knight Merz Warren Centre

Mr Neil Matthews Strategic Design and Development Warren Centre

Mr Peter Makeham National Roads Transport Commission

Mr Chris Koniditsiotis Ausroads

Brisbane - Friday, 13 September 2002

Briefings

Professor Phil Charles University of Queensland: ITS Laboratory

Dr Hussein Dia University of Queensland: ITS Laboratory Mr David Panter SAAB – ITS Australia

Mr Gary Linton SAAB – ITS Australia

Mr Colin Jensen Queensland Department of Main Roads.

Inspections

The committee travelled to the Woolloongabba Busway control centre and conducted inspections and held discussions.

The committee travelled to Eight Mile Plains and conducted inspections and held discussions on traveller information systems.

The committee travelled to the Gateway Bridge and conducted inspections and held discussions on the electronic toll collection system.