

Chair: Mr Kelvin Thomson MP

Treaties Committee to examine ten new treaties

Federal Parliament's Treaties Committee has commenced an inquiry into ten treaties tabled in the Parliament on 12 May 2010.

The treaties tabled include an agreement between Australia and the United States concerning the peaceful uses of nuclear energy, and an agreement between Australia and the United States on the provision of logistic support to each country's armed forces.

In addition, a number of air service agreements, tax treaties, and agreements on the protection of classified information will also be considered.

Organisations and members of the public with an interest in these treaties are encouraged to make a submission to the Committee. Submissions are requested by Friday, 11 June 2010.

The treaties being examined by the Committee are the:

- Agreement between Australia and the United States of America concerning Peaceful Uses of Nuclear Energy;
- Agreement between Australia and the United States of America Concerning Acquisition and Cross-Servicing (the armed services logistics agreement);
- Agreement between Australia and His Majesty the Sultan of Brunei Darussalam relating to Air Services;
- Agreement between Australia and Spain relating to Air Services;
- Agreement between Australia and the Swiss Federal Council relating to Air Services;
- Agreement between Australia and the United Kingdom concerning Air Services;
- Third Protocol amending the Agreement between Australia and Malaysia for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on Income;
- Convention between Australia and Chile for the Avoidance of Double Taxation with Respect to Taxes on Income and Fringe Benefits and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion, and Protocol;
- Agreement between Australia and the European Union on the Security of Classified Information; and
- Agreement between Australia and the Republic of Korea on the Protection of Classified Military Information.

Copies of the National Interest Analysis and treaty text for each treaty are available at http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct/12may2010/index.htm. Alternatively, interested parties may email jsct@aph.gov.au or phone (02) 6277 4002.

MEDIA CONTACTS

For Mr Kelvin Thomson MP (Chair) contact: Mr Anthony Cianflone on (03) 9350 5777

For background information contact: Committee Secretary on (02) 6277 4002

Telephone: 02 6277 4002
Facsimile: 02 6277 2219
E-mail: jsct@aph.gov.au/jsct
Website: www.aph.gov.au/jsct