

JOINT COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS AND AUDIT



Chair: Dr Andrew Southcott MP Deputy Chair: Mr Pat Conroy MP

New draft rules for public sector examined

Federal parliament's Public Accounts Committee is conducting an inquiry into the draft rules for the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013 (PGPA Act).

The objective of the PGPA Act is to establish a coherent system of governance across corporate and non-corporate Commonwealth entities, and require these entities and Commonwealth companies to meet high standards of performance and accountability.

Bodies impacted by these changes include Australia Post, the ABC and SBS, CSIRO, the Australian War Memorial, the Treasury, and Centrelink and Medicare, with bodies such as NBN Co also being impacted in some specific areas.

The PGPA Act comes into effect on 1 July 2014, but the rules (otherwise known as regulations) are yet to be finalised and tabled in Parliament. The draft rules, as submitted by the Department of Finance, are now available from the committee's website.

The Committee Chair, Dr Andrew Southcott MP, said that the rules will be critical in determining the scope and operation of the legislation and should promote the proper use of public resources.

The committee's inquiry into the rules will build upon its previous examination of the PGPA Bill before it was passed by Parliament. The committee will investigate whether stakeholders have been properly consulted during development of the draft rules and whether their concerns have been adequately addressed.

The committee will also examine the impacts and purpose of the rules in the context of the broader Public Management Reform Agenda.

Interested persons and organisations are invited to make submissions to the committee's inquiry, addressing the terms of reference, by 24 March 2014. The preferred form of submissions is in electronic format sent to jcpaa@aph.gov.au.

Public hearings have been scheduled for 27 March 2014, with the Department of Finance, and 7 April 2014, with other stakeholders.

Further information about the committee's inquiry, including the terms of reference and details on how to lodge a submission, are available on the committee's website at www.aph.gov.au/jcpaa.

For media comment: please contact Committee Chair, Dr Andrew Southcott MP (Marion Themeliotis 0413747351)

For information on the inquiry: please contact the committee secretariat on (02) 6277 4615 or email jcpaa@aph.gov.au, or visit the committee website: http://www.aph.gov.au/jcpaa

Telephone: 02 6277 4615 Parliament House Facsimile: 02 6277 2220 Email:

jcpaa@aph.gov.au Website: www.aph.gov.au/jcpaa PO Box 6021 CANBERRA ACT 2600