

The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

House of Representatives Standing Committee on Employment and Workplace Relations

Chair Mrs De-Anne Kelly, MP

Deputy Chair Hon Arch Bevis, MP

Members

Mr Peter Dutton, MP Ms Jill Hall, MP Mr Luke Hartsuyker, MP Mr Jim Lloyd, MP Ms Sophie Panopoulos, MP Mr Don Randall, MP Ms Maria Vamvakinou, MP Mr Kim Wilkie, MP

Correspondence and inquires: Committee Secretary House of Representatives Standing Committee on Employment and Workplace Relations R1 106 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel (02) 6277 4162 **Mob** 0421 611 182 **Fax** (02) 6277 4427 E-mail: ewr.reps@aph.gov.au

MEDIA ALERT

Inquiry into aspects of Australian workers' compensation schemes Public Hearing – Canberra Wednesday 13 November 2002

The House Employment and Workplace Relations Committee is inquiring into Australian workers' compensation schemes, with special regard to fraud, safety records, claims profiles and rehabilitation programs.

The Committee is continuing its schedule of hearings in Canberra on 13 November 2002 before travelling to Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and Melbourne.

This hearing will commence with the **National Meat Association of Australia** before hearing from Mr Hemming from **HEMSEM**.

Mrs De-Anne Kelly MP, said that 'a large number of NMAA members believe that fraudulent claims are a major problem'. The NMAA state that 'already there are plants and places that have closed doors in recent times, primarily because of compensation premiums and claims'.

HEMSEM believe that the level of workers compensation fraud is low in Tasmania. Mr Hemming made the point that while very few claimants set out to defraud the system, the incidence of fraudulent behaviour may reflect the way the system is structured.

Mrs Kelly said that these witnesses will add to the diverse range of views provided in the evidence received to date.

PUBLIC HEARING WHEN: Wednesday 13 November 2002, 10.45am – 12.30pm

WHERE: Committee Room 1R1, Parliament House

The program, transcripts of evidence from hearings and submissions will be available at the Committee's website at: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ewr/index.htm

Contact details

For comment: Mrs De-Anne Kelly, Chair, 02 6277 4702 **For further information** about the hearing: Cheryl Scarlett, Inquiry Secretary, 02 6277 4561 or 0421611182.