THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA. THE PARLIAMENT 0F

No. 87

VOTES AND**PROCEEDINGS**

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

WEDNESDAY, 23RD JULY, 1924.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Right Honorable W. A. Watt) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Arbitration (Public Service) Act—Determinations by the Arbitrator, &c.—

No. 27 of 1924—Commonwealth Public Service Clerical Association.

No. 28 of 1924—Australian Letter Carriers' Association.

Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired at Cressy, Victoria—For Postal purposes. Post and Telegraph Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1924, Nos. 68, 76. Public Service Act—Appointment of T. K. Burns, Department of Trade and Customs. Wireless Telegraphy Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1924, No. 101.

3. Defence Equipment Bill.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time—and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Anstey, viz.:—That after the word. "That" the following words be inserted:—"as efforts are being made by the President of the United States and the Prime Minister of Great Britain to convene another Conference to deal with the question of further disarmament, and in view of the early sitting of the League of Nations, it is the opinion of this House that expenditure on naval construction should be deferred for the present "--

Debate resumed.

Question—That the words proposed to be inserted be so inserted—put.

The House divided-

11 y Co, 21 T.	
Mr. Anstey	Mr. Mathews
Mr. Blakeley	Mr. McGrath
Mr. Brennan	Mr. Parker Moloney

Mr. Coleman Mr. Cunningham Mr. O'Keefe Mr. Edward Riley Mr. Forde Mr. Scullin

A 1700 9/

Mr. Watkins Mr. West Mr. Gabb Mr. Albert Green Mr. Yates Mr. Lacey

Mr. Lambert Tellers:Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Fenton Mr. Mahony Mr. McNeill Mr. Makin

Mr. Bruce Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Malcolm Cameron Mr. Robert Cook Mr. Corser Mr. Duncan-Hughes Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Frederick Francis Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Gardner Mr. Roland Green Mr. Gregory

Mr. Atkinson

Mr. Bamford

Mr. Bowden

Mr. Hill

Mr. Hurry

Mr. Jackson Sir Elliot Johnson Mr. Lister Mr. Mackay Mr. Mann Mr. Manning Mr. Maxwell Mr. Earle Page Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Pratten Mr. Stewart Mr. Thompson Mr. William Watson

Mr. Whitsitt Tellers: Sir Neville Howse Mr. Hunter Mr. Marr Mr. Prowse

Noes, 35.

And so it was negatived F.4713.

Debate continued by Mr. Mahony, who moved, as an amendment, That after the word "That" the following words be inserted:—"any sum spent in naval construction should be expended in Australia, thus relieving the distress caused by unemployment, and helping to develop Australian industries".

Debate continued.

Mr. Cunningham addressing the House, and not having concluded his speech, the House ordered that the honorable Member have leave to continue his speech when the debate is resumed.

Ordered—That the debate be now adjourned, and that the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

4. Message from the Senate.—Electoral [Compulsory Voting] Bill (1924).—Mr. Speaker announced the receipt of the following Message from the Senate:—

MR. SPEAKER,

Message No. 59.

The Senate has passed a Bill for "An Act to amend the 'Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918-1922' for the purpose of making provision for Compulsory Voting," and transmits the same to the House of Representatives for its concurrence.

The Senate, Melbourne, 23rd July, 1924. Thos. Givens,

President.

Mr. Mann moved, That the Bill transmitted by the foregoing Message be now read a first time. Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time.

Ordered—That the second reading be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

 Adjournment.—Mr. Bowden (Minister for Defence) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at eighteen minutes past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—
Mr. Bayley, Sir Austin Chapman, Mr. Charlton, Mr. Gibson*, Sir Littleton Groom, Mr. Hughes*,
Mr. Killen*, Mr. Latham*, Mr. Marks*, Mr. Charles McDonald*, Mr. Frederick McDonald,
Mr. E. C. Riley, Sir Granville Ryrie, and Mr. Seabrook*.

• Oh leave

WALTER A. GALE, Clerk of the House of Representatives.