## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

#### No. 92.

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

#### TUESDAY, 19TH OCTOBER, 1920.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. MINISTERIAL STATEMENT—NOTICE OF WANT OF CONFIDENCE MOTION.—Sir Joseph Cook, by leave, made a Ministerial Statement with reference to a Motion of Want of Confidence of which notice had been given by the Leader of the Opposition (Mr. Tudor).

  Mr. Tudor, by leave, also made a statement with reference to the matter.
- 3. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Public Service Act—Promotion of J. D. Chettle, Prime Minister's Department. War Gratuity Acts—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1920, No. 154.

4. SUPPLY.—[ESTIMATES 1920-21].—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

#### (In the Committee.)

Remainder of Vote-"The Parliament"-debated, and agreed to.

With concurrence, remainder of the Estimates to be put to the Committee in Departments as set forth in the statement showing amount to be appropriated by Parliament (see page 3 of the printed Estimates).

Vote—"The Prime Minister's Department, £366,863"—

Mr. Earle Page moved, as an amendment, That the Vote be reduced by £1.

Debate ensued

Amendment, by leave, temporarily withdrawn.

Mr. Bell moved, as an amendment, That the vote "High Commissioner's Office, £53,974," be reduced by the sum of £8,851.

Debate ensued.

Amendment, by leave, temporarily withdrawn.

Mr. Lavelle moved, as an amendment, That the item "Publicity Officer £300" (page 14) be omitted from Division No. 13.

Question—That the item be omitted—put.

The Committee divided-

#### Ayes, 10. Noes, 21. Mr. McWilliams Mr. Bamford Mr. Earle Page Mr. Bell Mr. Blakeley Mr. Riley Mr. Blundell Mr. James Page Mr. Brennan Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Poynton Sir Granville Ryrie Mr. Gabb · Tellers: Sir Joseph Cook Mr. Cunningham Mr. Laird Smith Mr. Corser Mr. Gregory Mr. Lavelle Mr. Lazzarini Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Wienholt Mr. Wise Mr. Gibson Mr. Greene Mr. Higgs Tellers: Mr. Lister Mr. Mackay Mr. Marr Mr. Burchell Mr. Story

And so it was negatived.

F.255.

Mr. Lavelle moved, as an amendment, That the item "Relief of Loyalist Workers—Maritime Strike, £4,000" (page 16), be omitted from Division No 13.

Debate ensued.

Question—That the item be omitted—put:

The Committee divided—

Ayes, 9.	Noes, 2	Noes, 25.			
Mr. Blakeley Mr. Brennan Mr. Cunningham Mr. Gabb Mr. Lavelle Mr. James Page Mr. Riley  Mr. Riley	Mr. Atkinson Mr. Bamford Mr. Bell Mr. Blundell Mr. Donald Cameron Sir Joseph Cook Mr. Corser Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Gibson Mr. Greene Mr. Gregory Mr. Higgs Mr. Jowett Mr. Lister	Mr. Mackay Mr. Marr Mr. McWilliams Mr. Earle Page Mr. Poynton Sir Granville Ryrie Mr. Laird Smith Mr. Wienholt Mr. Wise  Tellers:  Mr. Burchell Mr. Story			

And so it was negatived.

Mr. Lavelle moved, as an amendment, That the item "28. Contribution to cost of Secretariat—League of Nations £15,000" (page 17) be omitted.

Debate ensued.

Amendment negatived.

Mr. Bell moved his amendment, previously temporarily withdrawn, viz.:—That the vote "High Commissioner's Office, £53,974" (page 27) be reduced by £8,851.

Question—That the sum proposed to be reduced be so reduced—put.

The Committee divided—

Ayes,	14.				Noes,	20.
	~ -			 		_ 4

Mr.	$\operatorname{Bell}$	Mr. Lazzarini		Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Marr
Mr.	Blakeley	Mr. McWilliams		Mr. Bamford	Mr. James Page
Mr.	Brennan	Mr. Earle Page		Mr. Blundell	Mr. Poynton
Mr.	Gabb'	Mr. Wienholt		Mr. Donald Cameron	Sir Granville Ryrie
Mr.	$\mathbf{Gibson}$			Sir Joseph Cook	Mr. Laird Smith
Mr.	Gregory	Tellers:	•	Mr. Corser	Mr. Tudor
	Jowett	Mr. Cunningham		Mr. R. W. Foster	Mr. Wise
	Lavelle	Mr. Riley		Mr. Greene	
	_			Mr. Higgs	$ extcolor{Tellers}$ :
	•			Mr. Lister	Mr. Burchell
		l		Mr. Mackay	Mr. Story

And so it was negatived.

Mr. Gregory moved, as an amendment, That the vote "High Commissioner's Office, £53,974," (page 27) be reduced by £4,500.

Debate ensued.

Question-That the sum proposed to be reduced be so reduced-put.

The Committee divided—

### Ayes, 14. Noes, 19.

Mr.	Bell	Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. Bamford	Mr. James Page
	Blakeley	Mr. McWilliams	Mr. Blundell	Mr. Poynton
	Cunningham	Mr. Earle Page	Mr. Donald Cameron	Sir Granville Ryrie
	Gabb	Mr. Wienholt	Sir Joseph Cook	Mr. Laird Smith
	Gibson		Mr. Corser	Mr. Tudor
	Gregory	Tellers:	Mr. R. W. Foster	Mr. Wise
	Jowett	Mr. Brennan	Mr. Greene	
	Lavelle	Mr. Riley	Mr. Higgs	m 11
174.1	134 (0110	10110.5	Mr. Lister	Tellers:
			Mr. Mackay	Mr. Burchell
	•		Mr. Marr	Mr. Story

And so it was negatived. .

Vote "The Prime Minister's Department" further debated and agreed to. Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bamford reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, to-morrow, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. Message from the Governor-General.—Assent to Bill.—The following Message from His Excellency the Governor-General was received, and the same was read by Mr. Speaker:—

FORSTER,

Governor-General.

Message No. 40.

A Bill intituled "War Service Homes Act 1920," as finally passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth, having been presented to the Governor-General for the Royal Assent, His Excellency has, in the name and on behalf of His Majesty, assented to the said Act.

Fovernment House,
Melbourne, 19th October, 1920.

6. ADJOURNMENT.—Sir Joseph Cook moved, That the House do now adjourn Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at seven minutes past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Anstey, Mr. Bayley, Mr. Bowden\*, Mr. Austin Chapman, Mr. Charlton, Mr. Robert Cook, Mr. Fenton, Mr. Fowler, Mr. Groom, Mr. Hill, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Jackson, Mr. Lamond, Mr. Livingston, Mr. Mahony, Mr. Marks, Mr. McDonald, Mr. McGrath, Mr. Nicholls, Mr. Prowse, Mr. Ryan, Mr. Watt, and Mr. West.

\* On leave.

WALTER A. GALE, Clerk of the House of Representatives.