## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 66.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

## FRIDAY, 5TH DECEMBER, 1913.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. KALGOORLIE ELECTORAL DIVISION.—ISSUE OF WRIT.—Mr. Speaker announced to the House that he had that day issued a Writ for the election of a Member to serve for the Electoral Division of Kalgoorlie, in the State of Western Australia, in the place of the Honorable Charles Edward Frazer, deceased. The dates appointed in the Writ were as follow:—

Date of Nomination—Monday, 22nd December, 1913. Date of Polling—Saturday, 17th January, 1914. Return of Writ—On or before Saturday, 7th February, 1914.

3. Supply [Budget Debate].—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Question again proposed (see p. 84 ante), That the first item in the Estimates, under Division I.— The Parliament—namely—

The President ... ... £1,100

be agreed to.

General debate resumed.

Item agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Fowler reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, on Tuesday next, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

4. Powellised and other Timber for Port Augusta to Kalgoorlie Railway.—Mr. Gregory moved, by leave, That the Select Committee on Powellised and other Timber have leave to sit during the sittings of the House.

Debate ensued.

Question-put and passed.

F.6493.

5. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Joseph Cook moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-four minutes past four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Abbott, Mr. Archibald, Mr. Burchell, Mr. Burns, Mr. Carr, Mr. Catts, Mr. Chapman, Mr. Charlton, Mr. Conroy, Mr. Dankel, Mr. Fisher, Mr. Fleming, Mr. Glynn, Mr. Howe, Mr. Hughes, Mr. McGrath (under suspension), Mr. Orchard, Mr. Patten, Mr. Pigott, Mr. Poynton, Mr. Riley, Colonel Ryrie, Mr. Watkins, Mr. Webster, Mr. West, and Mr. Wynne.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.