, 13

# THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

## No. 4.

#### **PROCEEDINGS** VOTES AND

OF THE

### OF REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE

## FRIDAY, 8TH SEPTEMBER, 1911.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Address-in-Reply to His Excellency the Governor-General's Speech.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question-That the following Addressin-Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to by this House :-

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY-

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, beg to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament—

Debate resumed.

Mr. Bruce Smith moved, That the debate be now adjourned. Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for Tuesday next.

3. PAPERS.—Mr. Thomas presented, pursuant to Statute—

Public Service Act-Papers relative to Appointment and Promotions, in the Postmaster-General's Department, of-

S. G. McFarlane, as Clerk, Chief Accountant's Branch, Central Staff.

- S. L. Monaghan, as Assistant Manager, Electrical Engineer's Branch (Telephones),
- E. H. Seitz, as Draughtsman, Electrical Engineer's Branch, Sydney.
- E. Swire, as Clerk, Records Branch, Sydney.
- 4. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Thomas moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question-put and passed.

And then the House, at eleven minutes past four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Archibald,

- Mr. Batchelor, Mr. Brown, Mr. Carr, Sir John Forrest, Mr. Fuller, Mr. Groom, Mr. Harper, Mr. Higgs, Mr. W. H. Irvine, Mr. W. Elliot Johnson, Mr. W. J. Johnson, Mr. Kelly, Mr. Livingston, Sir William Lyne, Mr. Mahon, Mr. W. Maloney, Mr. Poynton, Sir John Quick, Mr. Laird Smith, Mr. Spence, Mr. Thomson, and Mr. Watkins.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.