177

## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 60.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

## FRIDAY, 14TH OCTOBER, 1910.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Government Business—Precedence to.—Mr. Hughes moved, pursuant to notice, That, on each sitting day, until otherwise ordered, Government Business shall take precedence of General Business.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

- 3. Postal Rates Bill.—Mr. Thomas moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act relating to Postal Rates.

  Question—put and passed.
- 4. NORTHERN TERRITORY ACCEPTANCE BILL.—The Order of the Day having been read for the further consideration of this Bill in Committee of the whole House—Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 1 again read, and agreed to.

Clause 2 debated and agreed to.

Clauses 3 and 4 agreed to.

Clause 5 read.

Mr. Higgs moved the following amendment:-

At end of clause add—"with this proviso, that notwithstanding anything to the contrary expressed or implied, the Commonwealth may construct the transcontinental railway along such route within the Territory as may be deemed expedient".

Debate ensued.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Poynton reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, on Tuesday next, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

 ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Hughes moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at thirty-four minutes past four o'clock, p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Atkinson, Mr. Beard, Mr. Brown, Mr. Cann, Mr. Carr, Mr. Chapman, Mr. Charlton, Mr. Cook, Mr. Deakin, Mr. G. B. Edwards, Mr. Fairbairn, Mr. Fisher, Sir John Forrest, Mr. Frank J. Foster, Mr. R. W. Foster, Mr. Fowler, Mr. Glynn, Mr. Greene, Mr. Groom, Mr. Hall, Mr. Howe, Mr. Hans Irvine, Mr. W. Elliot Johnson, Mr. W. J. Johnson, Mr. Kelly, Mr. Livingston, Mr. Mahon, Mr. Riley, Mr. Roberts, Mr. Sampson, Mr. Sinclair, Mr. Bruce Smith, Mr. Spence, Mr. Webster, and Mr. West.

C. GAVAN DUFFY,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.