THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 52.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

WEDNESDAY, 22ND SEPTEMBER, 1909.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PRIVILEGE.—DISSENT FROM SPEAKER'S RULING.—The Order of the Day having been read for the consideration of the motion, of which notice had been given at the last sitting, to dissent from a ruling of Mr. Speaker—Mr. Hughes moved, That this House dissents from the ruling of Mr. Speaker, that the motion of the Prime Minister for the suspension of the Standing Orders was a motion within the meaning of Standing Orders 407 and 409.
 - During his speech Mr. Hughes used two expressions which Mr. Speaker ruled out of order, and directed their withdrawal by the honorable Member. Mr. Hughes withdrew one expression but refused to withdraw the other. Mr. Speaker having repeatedly asked the honorable Member to withdraw the latter expression, and the honorable Member still refusing, Mr. Speaker named the honorable Member for West Sydney (Mr. Hughes) for consistent and persistent disregard of the direction of the Chair to withdraw a word that was considered disorderly. Mr. Deakin stated that he thought there was a misunderstanding, and that Mr. Hughes had used the word "contemptible" not in reference to an honorable Member personally, but as a criticism on the tactics of the Ministry. Mr. Hughes stated that was the way in which he applied the word. Mr. Speaker thereupon accepted the honorable Member's explanation, and the matter was not proceeded with further.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Batchelor moved, That so much of the Standing Orders be suspended as prevents the discussion forthwith of the Speaker's rulings of yesterday.

Debate ensued.

Question—That so much of the Standing Orders be suspended as prevents the discussion forthwith of the Speaker's rulings of yesterday—put.

The House divided-

Ayes, 28 .		Noes, 34.		
Mr. Bamford	Mr. McDougall	Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Kelly	
Mr. Batchelor	Mr. O'Malley	Mr. Joseph Cook	Mr. Liddell	
Mr. Thomas Brown	Mr. Page	Mr. Coon	Mr. Livingston	
Mr. Carr	Mr. Poynton	Mr. Crouch	Mr. Mauger	
Mr. Catts	Mr. Roberts	Mr. Deakin	Mr. McWilliams	
Mr. Chanter	Mr. Spence	Mr. Edwards	Mr. Palmer	
Mr. Fisher	Mr. Thomas	Sir Thomas Ewing	Sir John Quick	
Mr. Frank J. Foster	Mr. Tudor	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Sampson	
Mr. Frazer	Mr. Watkins	Sir John Forrest	Mr. Sinclair	
Mr. Hughes	Mr. Webster	Mr. R. W. Foster	Mr. Bruce Smith	
Sir William Lyne	Mr. Wise	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Dugald Thomson	
Mr. Mahon		Sir Philip Fysh	Mr. John Thomson	
Mr. Maloney	Tellers.	Mr. Glynn	Mr. Wilson	
	Mr. Hall	Mr. Groom	Mr. Wynne	
Mr. McDonald	Mr. Hutchison	Mr. Harper		
		Mr. Hedges	Tellers.	
		Mr. Hans Irvine	Mr. Archer	
		Mr. Johnson	Mr. Hume Cook	

And so it passed in the negative.

Debate on original motion continued.

Mr. Deakin moved—That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

22nd September, 1909.

The	House	divided—

Ayes, 37.		Noes, 27.		
Mr. Archer	Mr. Kelly	Mr. Bamford	Mr. McDougall	
Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Knox	Mr. Batchelor	Mr. O'Malley	
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Liddell	Mr. Thomas Brown	Mr. Page	
Mr. Joseph Cook	Mr. Livingston	Mr. Carr	Mr. Poynton	
Mr. Coon	Mr. Mauger	Mr. Catts	Mr. Roberts	
Mr. Deakin	Mr. McWilliams	Mr. Chanter	Mr. Spence	
Sir Thomas Ewing	Mr. Palmer	Mr. Fisher	Mr. Thomas	
Mr. Fairbairn	Sir John Quick	Mr. Frank J. Foster	Mr. Tudor	
Sir John Forrest	Mr. Sampson	Mr. Hughes		
Mr. R. W. Foster	Mr. Sinclair	Mr. Hutchison	Mr. Wise	
Mr. Fowler	Mr. Bruce Smith	Sir William Lyne		
Mr. Fuller	Mr. Dugald Thomson	Mr. Mahon	m 11	
Sir Philip Fysh	Mr. John Thomson	Mr. Maloney	Tellers.	
Mr. Glynn	Mr. Wilson	Mr. Mathews	Mr. Frazer	
Mr. Groom	Mr. Wynne	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Hall	
Mr. Harper		}	<u>_</u>	
Mr. Hedges	en 11			
Mr. Hans Irvine	Tellers.		•	
Mr. W. H. Irvine	Mr. Hume Cook	\	1	
Mr. Johnson	Mr. Crouch	I		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question being accordingly put—"That this House dissents from the ruling of Mr. Speaker, that the motion of the Prime Minister for the suspension of the Standing Orders was a motion within the meaning of Standing Orders 407 and 409"—

The House dissipation

The House divided—

Ayes, 25.	No	Noes, 37.	
Ayes, 25. Mr. Bamford Mr. O'Malley Mr. Batchelor Mr. Page Mr. Thomas Brown Mr. Poynton Mr. Carr Mr. Roberts Mr. Catts Mr. Spence Mr. Fisher Mr. Thomas Mr. Frank J. Foster Mr. Tudor Mr. Hughes Mr. Watkins Mr. Hutchison Mr. Webster Sir William Lyne Mr. Mahon Mr. Maloney Tellers. Mr. McDougall Mr. Hall	Mr. Archer Mr. Atkinson Mr. Bowden Mr. Joseph Cook Mr. Coon Mr. Crouch Mr. Deakin Sir Thomas Ewing Mr. Fairbairn Sir John Forrest Mr. R. W. Foster Mr. Fowler Mr. Fuller Sir Philip Fysh	Mr. Johnson Mr. Kelly Mr. Knox Mr. Liddell Mr. Livingston Mr. McWilliams Mr. Palmer	
Mr. Mathews Mr. Frazer		Mr. John Thomson	

And so it passed in the negative.

3. Constitution Alteration (Finance) Bill.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Deakin:—That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to alter the provisions of the Constitution relating to Finance-

Debate resumed. Mr. Bowden moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and resolved in the affirmative. Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for to-morrow.

4. Adjournment.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at two minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT .- All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except-Mr. Tilley Brown, Mr. Chapman*, Colonel Foxton, Mr. Reid, Mr. Watson, and Mr. Willis.

* On leave.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.