THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 128.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

THURSDAY, 14TH MAY, 1908.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Adelaide Electoral Division.—Issue of Writ.—Mr. Speaker announced to the House that he had that day issued a Writ for the election of a Member to serve for the Electoral Division of Adelaide, in the State of South Australia, in the place of the Right Honorable Charles Cameron Kingston, deceased. The dates appointed in the Writ were as follow:—

Date of Nomination—Monday, 1st June, 1908. Date of Polling—Saturday, 13th June, 1908. Return of Writ—On or before 23rd June, 1908.

- 3. Paper.--Mr. Deakin presented, pursuant to the direction of an Act of Parliament—Papua—Ordinance No. 12 of 1907—Constabulary.
- 4. Customs Tariff Bill (1907)—Senate's Requests.—The Order of the Day having been read for the further consideration in Committee of the whole House of the Requests made by the Senate in regard to this Bill—Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.
 - Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair; Mr. McDonald reported that the Committee had made progress, and that he was directed to ask, That the Committee may have leave to sit again.

 Resolved—That the House will, to-morrow, again resolve itself into the said Committee.
- 5. Paper.—Mr. Chapman presented, pursuant to the direction of an Act of Parliament—
 Public Service Act—Recommendation, &c., of Appointment of H. C. Dannevig as Director of Fisheries, Department of Trade and Customs.
- 6. Adjournment.—Sir William Lyne moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.
- And then the House, at thirty-six minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Batchelor, Mr. Bowden, Mr. Catts, Mr. Edwards*, Mr. Foster, Mr. Fowler*, Mr. Glynn, Mr. Hall, Mr. Hutchison, Mr. Hans Irvine*, Mr. Bruce Smith, Mr. Watkins, and Mr. Wise.

C. GAVAN DUFFY,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.