1970-71

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

No. 83

WEDNESDAY, 10 MARCH 1971

- 1 The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment. Mr Speaker (the Honourable Sir William Aston) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2 LEADERSHIP OF THE PARLIAMENTARY LIBERAL PARTY—INTENDED RESIGNATION OF PRIME MINISTER: Mr Gorton (Prime Minister) informed the House that there had been a change in the leadership of the Parliamentary Liberal Party. In the light of this change he would tender to His Excellency the Governor-General his resignation as Prime Minister and would offer His Excellency certain advice regarding the formation of a new Government.
- 3 ALTERATION OF DAY OF NEXT MEETING: Mr Gorton (Prime Minister) moved—That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Monday next at half-past two o'clock p.m. Debate ensued.

Mr Stewart rising to address the House-

Closure: Mr Snedden (Leader of the House) moved—That the question be now put. Ouestion—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (the Speaker, Sir William Aston, in the Chair)—

AYES, 62

Mr Adermann	Mr G. D. Erwin	Mr Jarman	Mr Pettitt
Mr Anthony	Mr Fairbairn	Mr Jess	Mr Reid
Mr Barnes	Mr Forbes	Mr Katter	Mr Robinson
Mr Bate	Mr J. M. Fraser	Mr Kelly	Mr Sinclair
Mr N. H. Bowen	Mr Garland	Mr Killen	Mr Snedden
Mr Brown	Mr Giles	Mr King	Mr Solomon
Mr Buchanan	Mr Gorton	Mr Lucock	Mr Staley
Mr Bury	Mr Graham	Mr Lynch	Mr Street
Mr K. M. K. Cairns	Mr Hallett	Mr Mackay	Mr Swartz
Mr Calder	Mr Hamer	Mr MacKellar	Mr Turner
Mr D. M. Cameron	Mr Holten	Mr Maisey	Mr Wentworth
Mr Chipp	Mr Howson	Mr McLeay	Mr Whittorn
Sir J. Cramer	Mr Hughes	Mr McMahon	
Mr Dobie	Sir A. Hulme	Mr Nixon	Tellers:
Mr Drury	Mr Hunt	Mr O'Keefe	Mr Fox
Mr England	Mr L. H. Irwin	Mr Peacock	Mr Turnbull
	Noes,	58	
Mr Armitage	Mr Cope	Mr Hansen	Mr Mclvor
Mr Barnard	Mr Crean	Mr Hayden	Mr Morrison
Mr Beazley	Mr Cross	Mr Hurford	Mr Nicholls
Mr Bennett	Mr Daly	Mr Jacobi	Mr Patterson
Mr Berinson	Mr Davies	Mr Jenkins	Mr Reynolds
Mr Birrell	Mr Enderby	Mr L. K. Johnson	Mr Scholes
Mr L. F. Bowen	Mr Everingham	Mr L. R. Johnson	Mr Stewart
Mr Bryant	Mr FitzPatrick	Mr Jones	Mr Uren
Mr J. F. Cairns	Mr Foster	Mr Keating	Mr Wallis
Mr Calwell	Mr A. D. Fraser	Mr Kennedy	Mr Webb
Mr C. R. Cameron	Mr Fulton	Mr Keogh	Mr Whitlam
Mr Cass	Mr Garrick	Mr Kirwan	
Mr Cohen	Mr Grassby	Mr Klugman	Tellers:
Mr Collard	Mr Griffiths	Mr Luchetti	Mr Duthie
Mr Connor	Mr Gun	Mr Martin	Mr James
A m.d. a.a. :4a.aa.a.la.	d in the effermention		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the motion be agreed to—was put accordingly, and passed.

4 ADJOURNMENT: Mr Snedden (Leader of the House) moved—That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Question-put and passed.

And then the House, at nineteen minutes to three o'clock p.m., adjourned until Monday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

PAPER: The following paper was deemed to have been presented on 10 March 1971, pursuant to statute:

Public Service Arbitration Act—Public Service Arbitrator—Determination—1970—No. 372—Federated Storemen and Packers' Union of Australia; and Federated Ironworkers' Association of Australia.

MEMBERS PRESENT: All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr Bonnett, Mr Corbett and Mr Sherry.

A. G. TURNER, Clerk of the House of Representatives