## 1964-65.

# THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

# **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

#### OF THE

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

### No. 116.

## WEDNESDAY, 20TH OCTOBER, 1965.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Sir John McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. OUESTIONS .--- Questions without notice were asked.

Second Schedule-

- 3. PAPERS .--- The following papers were presented, pursuant to statute-
  - Australian National Airlines Act-Australian National Airlines Commission-Twentieth Annual Report and financial accounts, together with the Auditor-General's Report, for year 1964-65. Wine Overseas Marketing Act-Australian Wine Board-Thirty-seventh Annual Report, for year 1964-65, together with Statement by Minister regarding the operation of the Act.
    - Wool Industry Act—Australian Wool Board—Report and financial statements, together with the Auditor-General's Report, for year 1964-65.

Mr. Pollard

Mr. Reynolds

Mr. Coutts

Mr. Duthie

4. APPROPRIATION BILL (No. 1) 1965-66.—The House, according to order, resolved itself into a committee of the whole for the further consideration of the Bill.

(In the committee.)

Proposed expenditures-Department of Customs and Excise, £7,292,000-Department of Trade and Industry, £6,003,000-Department of Primary Industry, £17,318,000together further debated. Mr. Benson rising to address the committee-Closure.-Mr. Aston moved, That the question be now put. Ouestion-That the question be now put-put. The committee divided (the Temporary Chairman, Mr. Stewart, in the Chair)--Ayes, 58. Mr. King Mr. Lindsay Mr. Hallett Mr. Adermann Mr. Armstrong Mr. Davis Mr. Turner Mr. Hasluck Mr. Wentworth Mr. Drury Mr. Whittorn Mr. Wilson Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Mackay Mr. Barnes Mr. England Mr. Mackinnon Mr. Bosman Mr. G. D. Erwin Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Holten Mr. Maisey Mr. Bowen Mr. Bridges-Maxwell Mr. Howson Mr. McMahon Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Fairhall Mr. Hughes Mr. Nixon Mr. Opperman Mr. Pettitt Mr. Forbes Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Hulme Mr. L. H. Irwin Mr. Bury Mr. K. M. K. Cairns Mr. Chaney Mr. Chipp Mr. Freeth Mr. Jack Mr. Robinson Tellers: Mr. Shaw Mr. Sinclair Mr. Gibbs Mr. Jess Mr. Aston Mr. Cleaver Mr. Gibson Mr. Kelly Mr. Snedden Mr. Turnbull Sir J. Cramer Mr. Giles Mr. Killen NOES, 41. Mr. Riordan Mr. Jones Mr. Luchetti Mr. Fulton Mr. Barnard Mr. Cope Mr. Galvin Mr. Gray Mr. Griffiths Mr. Webb Mr. Whitlam Mr. Courtnay Mr. Beaton Mr. Crean Mr. Cross Mr. Curtin Mr. McIvor Mr. Beazley Mr. Mortimer Mr. Benson Mr. Birrell Mr. Nicholls Mr. O'Connor Mr. Hansen Mr. Daly Tellers: Mr. J. F. Cairns Mr. Harding Mr. Peters Mr. Davies Mr. Cameron Mr. Collard Mr. Havden

Mr. James

Mr. Johnson

Mr. Connor And so it was resolved in the affirmative. F.11879/65.

Mr. Devine

Mr. A. D. Fraser

423

And the question—That the proposed expenditures be agreed to—was put accordingly, and passed. Proposed expenditures—

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization, £12,800,000-Department of National Development, £14,479,000together debated.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Failes reported accordingly. Ordered—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said committee.

5. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Fairbairn (Minister for National Development) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Mr. Stewart addressing the House-

Closure .- Mr. Kelly moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (the Speaker, Sir John McLeay in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 57.		
Mr. Adermann Mr. Armstrong Mr. Barnes Mr. Bosman Mr. Bowen Mr. Bridges-Maxwell Mr. Bury Mr. K. M. K. Cairns Mr. Chaney Mr. Chipp Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Davis Mr. Drury Mr. England Mr. G. D. Erwin Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairball Mr. Forbes Mr. J. M. Fraser Mr. Freeth Mr. Gibbs	Mr. Giles Mr. Hallett Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Holten Mr. Holten Mr. Hughes Mr. Hulme Mr. L. H. Irwin Mr. Jack	Mr. Kelly Mr. Killen Mr. King Mr. Lindsay Mr. Mackay Mr. Mackay Mr. Mackinnon Mr. Maisey Mr. McMahon Mr. Nixon Mr. Opperman Mr. Pettiit	Mr. Shaw Mr. Sinclair Mr. Snedden Mr. Turner Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Aston
Sir J. Cramer	Mr. Gibson	Mr. Jess	Mr. Robinson	Mr. Turnbull
Noes, 35.				
Mr. Barnard Mr. Beaton Mr. Beazley Mr. Birrell	Mr. Crean Mr. Cross Mr. Curtin Mr. Daly	Mr. Galvin Mr. Hansen Mr. Harding Mr. Hayden	Mr. Mortimer Mr. Nicholls Mr. O'Connor Mr. Peters	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. J. F. Cairns Mr. Cameron Mr. Collard Mr. Cope	Mr. Davies Mr. Devine Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Fulton	Mr. James Mr. Johnson Mr. Jones Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Pollard Mr. Reynolds Mr. Stewart Mr. Webb	<i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Coutts Mr. Duthie

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question-That the House do now adjourn-was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at eleven minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

PAPERS.—The following papers were deemed to have been presented on the 20th October, 1965, pursuant to statute—

Norfolk Island Act—Ordinance—1965—No. 2—Customs.

Public Service Act-Appointment-Department of Social Services-E. M. Banner.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Allan\*, Mr. Cockle, Mr. Falkinder\*, Mr. J. R. Fraser, Mr. Lucock, Mr. McEwen, Mr. Minogue, Mr. Sexton\*, Mr. Stokes, Mr. Swartz and Mr. Uren\*.

\* On leave.

A. G. TURNER, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

424