THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 70.

TUESDAY, 2ND APRIL, 1963.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Sir John McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. DEATH OF MEMBER (MR. E. H. D. RUSSELL).—Sir Robert Menzies (Prime Minister) informed the House, with deep regret, of the death on the 31st March, of Mr. E. H. D. Russell, and moved, That this House expresses its deep regret at the death of Edgar Hughes Deg Russell, a Member of this House for the Division of Grey, places on record its appreciation of his long and meritorious public service and tenders its profound sympathy to his family in its bereavement.
 - And Mr. Calwell (Leader of the Opposition) having seconded the motion, and Mr. McEwen (Minister for Trade) and other honorable Members having addressed the House in support thereof, and all Members present having risen, in silence-

Question-passed.

- 3. Suspension of Sitting as Mark of Respect.—As a mark of respect to the memory of the deceased Member, the sitting was thereupon suspended until eight o'clock p.m.
- 4. RESUMPTION OF SITTING.—At eight o'clock p.m., Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair.
- 5. WANT OF CONFIDENCE IN THE GOVERNMENT.-Mr. Calwell (Leader of the Opposition) moved, pursuant to notice, That this Government no longer possesses the confidence of this House. Debate ensued.
 - Debate adjourned (Mr. J. M. Fraser), and the resumption of the debate made an Order of the Day for the
- 6. RETIREMENT OF PRINCIPAL PARLIAMENTARY REPORTER.—Mr. Speaker informed the House that Mr. L. D. O'Donnell, Principal Parliamentary Reporter, would retire at the close of business this day and, having expressed appreciation of the services rendered to the Parliament by Mr. O'Donnell, wished him a
 - Mr. Speaker stated that, consequent upon the retirement of Mr. O'Donnell, Mr. W. E. Dale would be Principal Parliamentary Reporter, Mr. A. K. Healy would be Second Reporter and Mr. W. J. Bridgman would be Third Reporter.
 - Mr. Holt (Treasurer), Mr. Calwell (Leader of the Opposition), Mr. McEwen (Minister for Trade), Mr. Whitlam and Mr. Mackinnon supported the remarks of Mr. Speaker in connexion with the retirement of Mr. O'Donnell.
- 7. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Copper and Brass Strip Bounty Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1963, No. 24. Customs Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1963, Nos. 26, 27.

Defence Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1963, No. 23.

Lands Acquisition Act—Land, &c., acquired for—
Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization purposes—Narrabri, New South Wales.

Postal purposes-

Tanilba, New South Wales.

Willbriggie, New South Wales.

Works purposes—Tamworth, New South Wales.

Northern Territory (Administration) Act—Ordinances— 1962-No. 49-Mining (No. 2).

1963-

No. 1-School Committee 1962.

No. 2-Wards Employment 1962.

No. 3-Hospitals and Medical Services 1962.

No. 4—Registration of Dogs 1962. No. 5—Medical Practitioners Registration 1962. No. 6—Pounds 1962.

No. 7-Supply of Services (No. 2) 1962.

No. 8—Control of Roads (No. 3) 1962. No. 9—Alice Springs Town Management 1962.

No. 10-Rice Development Agreement Repeal 1962.

No. 11—Apprentices (No. 3) 1962. No. 12—Local Government (No. 3) 1962.

No. 13-Local Government (No. 4) 1962.

No. 14—Prevention of Cruelty to Animals 1962.
No. 15—Alice Springs Hospital Advisory Board (No. 2) 1962.
No. 16—Motor Vehicles (No. 4) 1962.

No. 17-Katherine Town Management 1962.

Public Service Act-

Appointment—Attorney-General's Department—B. B. Arthur.

Regulations-Statutory Rules 1963, No. 22.

Sulphuric Acid Bounty Act—Regulations—Statutory Rules 1963, No. 25.

8. Adjournment.—Mr. Holt (Treasurer) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question-put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-two minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Sir Garfield Barwick, Mr. Drummond, Mr. Harrison, Mr. Kelly, Mr. Makin and Mr. Thompson.

A. G. TURNER,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.