1961.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 34.

THURSDAY, 31st AUGUST, 1961.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. McLeay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- MEMBER NAMED AND SUSPENDED.—Mr. Speaker named the honorable Member for Kingsford-Smith (Mr. Curtin) for continuing to interject after having been warned from the Chair.
 Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, That the honorable Member for Kingsford-Smith be suspended from the service of the House.

Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)---

		Ayes, 61.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Chresby	Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Swartz
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Turner
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Cramer	Mr. Halbert	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Wentworth
Mr. Aston	Mr. Davidson	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wheeler
Mr. Bandidt	Mr. Davis	Mr. Haworth	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Whittorn
Mr. Barnes	Mr. Dean	Mr. Holt	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Wight
Sir G. Barwick	Mr. Downer	Mr. Holten	Mr. Menzies	Mr. Wilson
Mr. Bate	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Howson	Mr. Murray	
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. England	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Opperman	
Mr. Browne	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Jess	Mr. Osborne	Tellers:
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Failes	Mr. Kelly	Sir E. Page	
Mr. Cash	Mr. Forbes	Mr. Killen	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Pearce
Mr. Chaney	Mr. Fox	Mr. King	Mr. Stokes	Mr. Turnbull
		NOES, 33.		
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Clay	Mr. Fulton	Mr. Makin	Mr. Uren
Mr. Beaton	Mr. Cope	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Ward
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Costa	Mr. Haylen	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Courtnay	Mr. James	Mr. Peters	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Crean	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Pollard	Tellers:
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Jones	Mr. Reynolds	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Clark	Mr. Davies	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Russell	Mr. Stewart

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

The honorable Member was, therefore, suspended at eleven o'clock a.m. for twenty-four hours under Standing Order No. 302, and he accordingly withdrew from the Chamber.

- 3. STATEMENT BY MEMBER—LEAVE TO MAKE NOT GRANTED.—Mr. Peters asked leave to make a Statement. Objection being raised, leave not granted.
- 4. PAPERS.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General— Documents on Berlin and Germany—May, 1959–August, 1961, together with Chronology of Political Developments affecting Berlin, 1944–1961.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute— Petroleum Search Subsidy Act 1957-58—Fourth Annual Statement, for year 1960-61. Petroleum Search Subsidy Act 1959—Second Annual Statement, for year 1960-61.

5. SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDERS—NOTICE OF MOTION, GENERAL BUSINESS.—Mr. McMahon (Minister for Labour and National Service), for Mr. Holt (Treasurer), moved, pursuant to notice, That so much of the Standing Orders be suspended as would prevent the Notice of Motion standing in the name of the honorable Member for the Australian Capital Territory proposing the disallowance of the Commonwealth Dwellings (Rent) Ordinance, No. 18 of 1961, being proceeded with forthwith. Question—put and passed.

F.6367/61.

31st August, 1961.

 COMMONWEALTH DWELLINGS (RENT) ORDINANCE—MOTION FOR DISALLOWANCE.—Mr. J. R. Fraser moved, pursuant to notice, That the Commonwealth Dwellings (Rent) Ordinance, No. 18 of 1961, made under the Seat of Government (Administration) Act 1910–1959, be disallowed. Debate ensued.

Mr. Freeth (Minister for the Interior), who had already spoken, again addressed the House, by leave. *Closure.*—Mr. Freeth moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put and passed.

And the question-That the motion be agreed to-being accordingly put-

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)-

•	- ·	•••				
		Ayes, 34.				
Mr. Beaton	Mr. Cope	Mr. Haylen	Mr. McIvor	Mr. Russell		
Mr. Bird	Mr. Costa	Mr. James	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Uren		
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Courtnay	Mr. Johnson	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Ward		
Mr. Cairns	Mr. Crean	Mr. Jones	Mr. Peters	Mr. Whitlam		
Mr. C. R. Cameron	Mr. Davies	Mr. Kearney	Mr. Pollard	Tellers:		
Mr. Clark	Mr. J. R. Fraser	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Reynolds	Mr. Duthie		
Mr. Clay	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Makin	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Stewart		
Noes, 55.						
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Cash	Mr. Forbes	Mr. Killen	Mr. Wentworth		
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Chaney	Mr. Fox	Mr. King	Mr. Wheeler		
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Chresby	Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Whittorn		
Mr. Aston	Mr. Cramer	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Mackinnon	Mr. Wight		
Mr. Bandidt	Mr. Davidson	Mr. Halbert	Mr. McColm	Mr. Wilson		
Mr. Barnes	Mr. Davis	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McMahon			
Sir G. Barwick	Mr. Dean	Mr. Haworth	Mr. Murray			
Mr. Bate	Mr. Downer	Mr. Holten	Mr. Opperman			
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. England	Mr. Howson	Mr. Roberton	Tellers:		
Mr. Browne	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Stokes			
Mr. Buchanan	Mr. Failes	Mr. Jess	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Pearce		
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Kelly	Mr. Turner	Mr. Turnbull		
d so it was negatived						

And so it was negatived.

7. SUPPLY-BUDGET DEBATE.-The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question, That the first item in the Estimates, under Division No. 101.-Senate-namely-

Salaries and allowances ... £34,250

be agreed to, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Calwell (Leader of the Opposition), viz.:-That the first item be reduced by £1.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Luchetti reported accordingly.

Ordered-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

- 8. STATEMENT BY MEMBER.—Mr. Duthie, by leave, made a Statement with reference to an accusation, made by the Leader of the Australian Democratic Labor Party, that he had formerly been a member of the Communist Party.
- 9. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Hasluck (Minister for Territories) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Closure .--- Mr. Hasluck moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. McLeay, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 48.		
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Cash	Mr. Failes	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Opperman
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Chresby	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Jess	Mr. Swartz
Mr. Anthony	Mr. Cleaver	Mr. Forbes	Mr. Kelly	Mr. Turner
Mr. Aston	Mr. Cramer	Mr. Fox	Mr. Killen	Mr. Whittorn
Mr. Bandidt	Mr. Davidson	Mr. J. M. Fraser	Mr. Lindsay	Mr. Wight
Mr. Barnes	Mr. Davis	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Lucock	Mr. Wilson
Sir G. Barwick	Mr. Dean	Mr. Halbert	Mr. Mackinnon	
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Downer	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. McColm	Tellers:
Mr. Buchanan	Mr. England	Mr. Holt	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Pearce
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Erwin	Mr. Howson	Mr. Murray	Mr. Turnbull
		NOES, 28.		
Mr. Beaton	Mr. Davies	Mr. Kearney	Mr. Peters	Mr. Ward
Mr. Bryant	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Whitlam
Mr. Cope	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Makin	Mr. Reynolds	
Mr. Costa	Mr. James	Mr. McIvor	Mr. Riordan	Tellers:
Mr. Courtnay	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Russell	Mr. Duthie
Mr. Crean	Mr. Jones	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Uren	Mr. Stewart
And so it was resolved	in the affirmative.			

And the question-That the House do now adjourn-was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at seventeen minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Allan, Mr. Beazley, Mr. Bland, Mr. Bowden, Mr. Bury, Mr. Chipp, Mr. Daly, Mr. Drury, Mr. Fairbairn, Mr. Fairhall, Mr. A. D. Fraser, Mr. Galvin, Mr. Hamilton, Mr. Harrison, Mr. Jack, Sir Wilfrid Kent Hughes, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Sexton, Mr. Snedden, Mr. Thompson and Mr. Townley.

N. J. PARKES,

Acting Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: A. J. ARTHUR, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.