THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 53.

WEDNESDAY, 20TH FEBRUARY, 1952.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. CENSURE OF GOVERNMENT.-The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), That the economic and financial policy of the Government, especially its high taxation and drastic restrictions of bank credit, is causing injury to industry and production, both primary and secondary and is undermining the established national policy of full employment. At the same time, as a result of inflated prices and the Government's failure to restore the purchasing power of the Australian pound, special hardship is being inflicted on families dependent upon fixed incomes, such as social services and repatriation benefits, and the standard of living of wage and salary earners has fallen and is falling : because of its persistence in so injurious a policy the Government has lost the confidence of the country and is deserving of censure-
 - Debate resumed.

Mr. Evatt rising to speak in reply— Closure.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put. The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)—

4	VVQ	62
э.	ILC.	04.

			AYES, 62.		
	Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Berry Mr. Bland Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Brown Mr. Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Corser	Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairball Mr. Falkinder Mr. Francis Mr. Fraeth Mr. Graham	Mr. Hamilton Mr. Eric J. Harrison Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Holt Mr. Hughes Mr. Jack Mr. Joske Mr. Kekwick Mr. Kent Hughes	Mr. Leslie Mr. Luck Mr. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. McDonald Mr. McEwen Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Menzies Mr. Opperman Mr. Osborne Sir E. Page	Mr. Roberton Mr. Ryan Mr. Timson Mr. Townley Mr. Treloar Mr. Turnbull Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wilson Tellers: Mr. Davidson
	Mr. Cramer	Mr. Grayden	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Pearce	Mr. Swartz
	•	·	NOES, 47.		
·	Mr. Anderson Mr. Andrews Mr. Bird Mr. W. M. Bourke Mr. Bruce Mr. Bryson Mr. T. P. Burke Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Clarey	Mr. Curtin Mr. Davies Mr. Drakeford Mr. Edmonds Mr. Evatt Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. A. D. Fraser Mr. Fuller Mr. Galvin Mr. Griffiths Mr. E. James Harrison Mr. Haylen Mr. James Mr. Johnson Mr. Joshua	Mr. Keon Mr. Lawson Mr. Luchetti Mr. McLeod Mr. Minogue Mr. Morgan Mr. Mulcahy Mr. O'Connor Mr. Peters Mr. Pollard	Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Russell Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Daly Mr. Sheehan
An	d so it was resolved	in the athrmative.			

And the question-That the motion be agreed to-being accordingly put-The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 47.		
Mr. Anderson	Mr. Clark	Mr. A. D. Fraser	Mr. Keon	Mr. Riordan
Mr. Andrews	Mr. Costa	Mr. Fuller	Mr. Lawson	Mr. Rosevear
Mr. Bird	Mr. Crean	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Luchetti	Mr. Russell
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Cremean	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Thompson
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Curtin	Mr. E. James	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Ward
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Davies	Harrison	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Watkins
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Mulcahy	
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. James	Mr. O'Connor	Tellers :
Mr. Chambers	Mr. Evatt	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Peters	Mr. Daly
Mr. Clarey	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Sheehan

20th February, 1952.

Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Berry Mr. Bland Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe Mr. Brown Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Cosser Mr. Corser Mr. Cramer	Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Downer Mr. Drummond Mr. Failes Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn Mr. Fairbail Mr. Fairhall Mr. Francis Mr. Fraeth Mr. Graham Mr. Graham	NoES, 62. Mr. Hamilton Mr. Eric J. Harrison Mr. Hasluck Mr. Haworth Mr. Holt Mr. Holt Mr. House Mr. Jack Mr. Jack Mr. Joske Mr. Joske Mr. Kekwick Mr. Kent Hughes Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Leslie Mr. Luck Mr. McBride Mr. McColm Mr. McDonald Mr. McLeay Mr. McLeay Mr. McMahon Mr. Menzies Mr. Opperman Mr. Opperman Mr. Opsorne Sir E. Page Mr. Pearce	Mr. Roberton Mr. Ryan Mr. Timson Mr. Townley Mr. Treloar Mr. Turnbull Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. Wilson <i>Tellers :</i> Mr. Davidson Mr. Swartz
--	---	---	---	--

And so it was negatived.

3. PRECEDENCE TO GOVERNMENT BUSINESS.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, pursuant to notice, That Government Business shall take precedence over General Business to-morrow.

Question—put and passed.

4. SECURITY TREATY (AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND AND THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA) BILL 1952.— Mr. Casey (Minister for External Affairs) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to approve the Security Treaty between Australia, New Zealand and the United States of America.

Question—put and passed.

- MINISTERS OF STATE BILL 1952.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to determine the number of the Ministers of State and to make provision for their Salaries and Allowances. Question—put and passed.
- 6. PARLIAMENTARY ALLOWANCES BILL 1952.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act relating to the Allowances of Members of each House of the Parliament.

Question—put and passed.

- 7. PARLIAMENTARY RETIRING ALLOWANCES BILL 1952.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to amend the *Parliamentary Retiring Allowances Act* 1948, and for other purposes. Question—put and passed.
- INCOME TAX AND SOCIAL SERVICES CONTRIBUTION ASSESSMENT BILL 1952.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, pursuant to notice, That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to amend the Income Tax and Social Services Contribution Assessment Act 1936-1951.
 Question—put and passed.
- 9. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued. Question—put and passed.

- And then the House, at seven minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Beazley, Mr. Bostock, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Mr. Duthie, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Hulme, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. Mullens and Mr. Wight.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.

262