THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 51.

THURSDAY, 7TH FEBRUARY, 1952.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Death of His Majesty King George VI.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, That the following Resolution be transmitted through His Excellency the Governor-General to Her Majesty The Queen:—

We, the Members of the House of Representatives in the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, express our gratitude for the devoted life and service of our late Sovereign, King George VI., whose death we mourn. We extend our profound and most loving sympathy to Your Majesty, whose loyal subjects we now are, and to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth and the other Members of the Royal Family.

- And Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition) having seconded the motion, and Mr. McEwen (Minister for Commerce and Agriculture) having addressed the House in support thereof, and all Members present having risen, in silence—Question—passed.
- 3. Special Adjournment.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until Tuesday, the 19th February next, at half-past two o'clock p.m. Question—put and passed.
- 4. Adjournment.—Mr. Menzies (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn.
 - Queen Elizabeth II.—Postponement of Royal Visit.—Mr. Menzies informed the House that Her Majesty The Queen, who is to be known as Queen Elizabeth II., had sent a message from Nairobi to His Excellency the Governor-General. Owing to the sudden death of her father, Her Majesty had to return home immediately and regretted that, for the present, her visit to Australia would have to be postponed.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at eleven minutes to eleven o'clock a.m., adjourned until Tuesday, the 19th February next, at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Bostock, Mr. C. R. Cameron, Sir Arthur Fadden, Mr. Fairbairn, Mr. Falkinder, Mr. Graham, Mr. Joske, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. Mulcahy, Mr. Mullens, Mr. Rosevear, Mr. Timson, and Mr. Wheeler.

F. C. GREEN,
Clerk of the House of Representatives.