THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 6.

FRIDAY, 22ND JUNE, 1951.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable A. G. Cameron) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. STATE FUNERAL OF THE RIGHT HONORABLE J. B. CHIFLEY-STATEMENT BY LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION.-Mr. Evatt (Leader of the Opposition), by leave, made a Statement placing on record the deep appreciation of the Opposition for the action taken in authorizing and directing the arrangements made in connexion with the State Funeral of the Right Honorable J. B. Chifley, M.P.
- 3. PAPERS. -- The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-
 - Commonwealth Bank Act-Appointment Certificate-A. H. McNaughtan.
 - Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for— Banking purposes—North Steyne, New South Wales.
 - Immigration purposes-Cessnock, New South Wales.

Public Service Act—Appointments—Department— Civil Aviation—M. Georgouras. Supply—W. Craick, C. G. B. Stokes.

- 4. TEMPORARY CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES .- The following Warrant nominating Temporary Chairmen of Committees, pursuant to Standing Order No. 17, was laid upon the Table by Mr. Speaker :-

The Parliament of the Commonwealth.

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

Pursuant to the provisions of the Standing Order numbered 17, I do hereby nominate-

- George James Bowden, Esquire,
- Thomas Patrick Burke, Esquire,
- The Honorable Allan McKenzie McDonald, Rupert Sumner Ryan, Esquire,
- Albert Victor Thompson, Esquire, and
- David Oliver Watkins, Esquire,

to act as Temporary Chairmen of Committees when requested so to do by the Chairman of Committees.

Given under my hand this twenty-second day of June, One thousand nine hundred and fifty-one.

ARCHIE G. CAMERON,

Speaker.

Mr. Burke, Mr. Thompson and Mr. Watkins stated, by leave, that they desired to decline nomination.

5. Address in Reply to the Governor-General's Speech .- The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question -- That the following Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to :

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY-

We, the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, in Parliament assembled, desire to express our loyalty to our Most Gracious Sovereign, and to thank Your Excellency for the Speech which you have been pleased to address to Parliament-

Debate resumed.

Closure.-Mr. Gullett moved, That the question be now put.

Question-That the question be now put-put.

F.2180.

22nd June, 1951.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

		Ayes, 54.				
Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony	Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis	Mr. Graham Mr. Grayden	Mr. Leslie Mr. McColm	Mr. Turnbull Mr. Wentworth		
Mr. Bate	Mr. Dean	Mr. Hamilton	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Wheeler		
Mr. Beale	Mr. Drummond	Mr. Erie J.	Mr. McEwen	Mr. B. M. Wight		
Mr. Berry	Mr. Drury	Harrison	Mr. McMahon	Mr. Wilson		
Mr. Bland	Mr. Eggins	Mr. Hasluck	Mr. Opperman			
Mr. Bostock	Sir A. Fadden	Mr. Holt	Mr. Osborne			
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Failes	Mr. Howse	Sir E. Page	Tellers :		
Mr. Brimblecombe	Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Pearce			
Mr. Brown	Mr. Fairhall	Mr. Hulme	Mr. Roberton	Mr. Davidson		
Mr. D. A. Cameron	Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Jack	Mr. Swartz	Mr. Gullett		
Mr. Corser	Mr. Freeth	Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Treloar			
NOES, 35.						
Mr. Bird	Mr. Crean	Mr. Griffiths	Mr. Morgan	Mr. Ward		
Mr. W. M. Bourke	Mr. Curtin	Mr. E. James	Mr. Mulcahy	Mr. Watkins		
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Drakeford	Harrison	Mr. O'Connor			
Mr. Bryson	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Haylen	Mr. Pollard			
Mr. T. P. Burke	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Johnson	Mr. Riordan	Tellers :		
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Fitzgerald	Mr. Joshua	Mr. Rosevear			
Mr. Clarey	Mr. Fuller	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Russell	Mr. C. R. Cameron		
Mr. Costa	Mr. Galvin	Mr. Minogue	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Daly		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the Address in Reply to the Speech of His Excellency the Governor-General be agreed to--was put accordingly, and passed.

Mr. Speaker informed the House that he would ascertain when it would be convenient for His Excellency the Governor-General to receive the Address in Reply, and honorable Members would be notified accordingly.

6. ADJOURNMENT.---Mr. Eric J. Harrison (Vice-President of the Executive Council) moved, That the House do now adjourn.

Debate ensued.

Several Members rising to address the House-

Closure.-Mr. Gullett moved, That the question be now put.

Question-That the question be now put-put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. A. G. Cameron, in the Chair)-

AyES, 54.

		ATES, 04.				
Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Bate Mr. Beale Mr. Berry Mr. Bland Ms. Beateal	Mr. Cramer Mr. Davis Mr. Dean Mr. Drummond Mr. Drury Mr. Eggins	Mr. Graham Mr. Grayden Mr. Hamilton Mr. Eric J. Harrison Mr. Haeluck	Mr. Leslic Mr. McColm Mr. McDonald Mr. McEwen Mr. McMahon Mr. Opperman	Mr. Turnbuli Mr. Wentworth Mr. Wheeler Mr. B. M. Wight Mr. Wilson		
Mr. Bostock Mr. Bowden Mr. Brimblecombe	Sir A. Fadden Mr. Failes Mr. Fairbairn	Mr. Holt Mr. Howse Mr. Hughes	Mr. Osborne Sir E. Page Mr. Pearce	Tellers : No. David.		
Mr. Brown Mr. D. A. Cameron Mr. Corser	Mr. Fairhall Mr. Falkinder Mr. Freeth	Mr. Hulme Mr. Jack Mr. Lawrence	Mr. Roberton Mr. Swartz Mr. Treloar	Mr. Davidson Mr. Gullett		
		NOES, 23.				
Mr. Bruce Mr. T. P. Burke Mr. Calwell Mr. Cl arey Mr. Costa	Mr. Curtin Mr. Fitzgerald Mr. Galvin Mr. E. James Harrison	Mr. Haylen Mr. Johnson Mr. Joshua Mr. Minogue Mr. Morgan	Mr. Mulcahy Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear	Mr. Russell Mr. Ward <i>Tellers :</i> Mr. C. R. Cameron Mr. Daly		
ad so it was resolved in the affirmative						

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question-That the House do now adjourn-was put accordingly, and passed.

And then the House, at eight minutes past one o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Anderson, Mr. Andrews, Mr. Beazley, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Clark, Mr. Davies, Mr. A. D. Fraser, Mr. James, Mr. Kent Hughes, Mr. Lawson, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. McBride, Mr. McLeay, Mr. Mullens, Mr. Nelson and Mr. Townley.

F. C. GREEN,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: L. F. JOHNSTON, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.