THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 42.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

WEDNESDAY, 29TH JUNE, 1904.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Message from His Excellency the Governor-General.—Papua (British New Guinea) Bill.—
 The following Message from His Excellency the Governor-General was presented by Mr. Hughes, and the same was read by Mr. Speaker:—

NORTHCOTE,

Governor-General.

Message No. 8.

In accordance with the requirements of section 56 of The Constitution of the Commonwealth of Australia the Governor-General recommends to the House of Representatives that an appropriation of revenue and moneys be made for the purposes of a Bill for an Act to provide for the acceptance of British New Guinea as a Territory under the authority of the Commonwealth, and for the Government thereof.

Government House, Sydney, 23rd June, 1904.

Ordered—That the consideration of the foregoing Message in Committee of the whole House be made an Order of the Day for to-morrow.

- 3. Commonwealth Conciliation and Arbitration Bill.—The Order of the Day having been read for the further consideration of this Bill in Committee of the whole House—Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.
 - Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair; Mr. Salmon reported that the Committee had made progress in the Bill, and that he was directed to ask, That the Committee may have leave to sit again. Resolved—That the House will, to-morrow, again resolve itself into the said Committee.
- 4. Adjournment.—Mr. Batchelor moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House at two minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present except—Mr. Cameron, Mr. Hume Cook, Mr. Joseph Cook*, Mr. Ewing, Mr. Kingston, Mr. Liddell, Mr. Phillips, Sir John Quick, Mr. Robinson, Sir George Turner*, Mr. Watkins, Mr. Webster, Mr. Wilkinson, Mr. Wilks, and Mr. Willis.

* On leave.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.