1948 - 49.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 89.

TUESDAY, 7TH JUNE, 1949.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Clark) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PETITION.-Mr. Blain presented a Petition from 400 citizens of the Commonwealth of Australia and electors of the Northern Territory, praying that the circumstances of the dismissal of Dr. V. H. Webster, Medical Officer-in-charge, Tennant Creek Hospital, be investigated. Petition received and read.
- 3. ALTERATION OF HOUR OF NEXT MEETING .- Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m. Question-put and passed.
- 4. PETROL RATIONING-STATEMENT BY MEMBER.-Mr. Menzies (Leader of the Opposition), by leave, made a Statement with reference to petrol rationing. Mr. Chifley (Prime Minister), by leave, also made a Statement in connexion with the matter.
- 5. PAPERS —The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute— Commonwealth Public Service Act—Appointment—Department of Defence—A. S. Storey. Lands Acquisition Act—Land acquired for— Banking purposes—Rosebery, New South Wales.

 - Department of Civil Aviation purposes—Llanherne, Tasmania. Department of the Interior purposes—Cloncurry, Queensland.

Postal purposes-

Belmont Park, Western Australia.

- Bendigo, Victoria.
- Rosebery, New South Wales.
- Tumby Bay, South Australia.
- 6. IMMIGRATION BILL 1949.—Mr. Calwell (Minister for Immigration), pursuant to leave given on the 1st June, brought up a Bill intituled "A Bill for an Act to amend the 'Immigration Act 1901-1948', and for other purposes", and moved, That it be now read a first time.

Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time. Ordered—That the second reading be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

- 7. WAR-TIME REFUGEES REMOVAL BILL 1949.—Mr. Calwell (Minister for Immigration), pursuant to leave given on the 1st June, brought up a Bill intituled "A Bill for an Act to provide for the Removal from Australia of certain Persons who entered Australia during the Period of Hostilities", and moved, That it be now read a first time.

 - Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time. Ordered—That the second reading be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.
- 8. CENSURE MOTION.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the following motion of Mr. Menzies (Leader of the Opposition), That the Government—
 - (a) by the use of its majority in this House is unreasonably and improperly restricting the
 - (a) by the use of its majority in this froms its unreasonably and improperty restricting the rights of private Members and the electors they represent;
 (b) is disregarding the status of the Chair by permitting to remain for months on the notice paper, partly debated, but undetermined, a motion of No-Confidence in Mr. Deputy Speaker;
 - (c) is permitting and encouraging personal defamatory and threatening attacks upon Opposition Members by Ministers, and so violating the decencies of political controversy:
 - (d) is exhibiting a contempt for the institution of Parliament and its function as the democratic forum of the Nation;

and therefore that the Government is deserving of the censure of this House-

Debate resumed.

7th June, 1949.

		1010.	
Mr. Harrison moved, The Question—put.	at Mr. McEwen be granted	an extension of time.	
The House divided (The	Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clarl	k, in the Chair)—	
	es, 24.		oes, 32.
Mr. Adermann	Mr. Lang	Mr. Barnard	Mr. Lazzarini
Mr. Beale	Dame Enid Lyons	Mr. Beazley	Mr. Lemmon
Mr. Bowden	Mr. McEwen	Mrs. Blackburn	Mr. McLeod
Mr. Cameron	Mr. Menzies	Mr. Brennan	Mr. O'Connor
Mr. Davidson	Mr. Rankin	Mr. Calwell	Mr. Pollard
Mr. Fadden	Mr. Ryan	Mr. Chambers	Mr. Riordan
Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Spender	Mr. Chifley	Mr. Russell
Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Turnbull	Mr. Conelan	Mr. Scully
Mr. Harrison	Mr. White	Mr. Daly	Mr. Sheehy Mr. Thompson
Mr. Holt	Tellers:	Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward
Mr. Howse	Mr. Corser	Mr. Duthie	Mr. Watkins
Mr. Hughes Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Williams
mi. Hutomison		Mr. Fraser	
		Mr. Holloway	Tellers:
		Mr. Johnson	Mr. Fuller
		Mr. Langtry	Mr. Sheehan
And so it was negative	ed.		
Debate continued.			
ClosureMr. Scully (Vi	ce-President of the Execu	tive Council) moved, Tha	t the question be now put.
Question—That the question be now put—put.			
The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clark, in the Chair)—			
A	lyes, 32.	-	Noes, 24.
Mr. Barnard	Mr. Lazzarini	Mr. Adermann	Mr. Lang
Mr. Beazley	Mr. Lemmon	Mr. Beale	Dame Enid Lyons
Mrs. Blackburn	Mr. McLeod	Mr. Bowden	Mr. McEwen
Mr. Brennan	Mr. O'Connor	Mr. Cameron	Mr. Menzies
Mr. Calwell	Mr. Pollard	Mr. Davidson	Mr. Rankin Mr. Bree
Mr. Chambers	Mr. Riordan Mr. Bussell	Mr. Fadden	Mr. Ryan Mr. Spondon
Mr. Chifley Mr. Conelan	Mr. Russell Mr. Scully	Mr. Falkinder Mr. Hamilton	Mr. Spender Mr. Turnbull
Mr. Daly	Mr. Sheehy	Mr. Harrison	Mr. White
Mr. Dedman	Mr. Thompson	Mr. Holt	
Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Ward	Mr. Howse	Tellers:
Mr. Duthie	Mr. Watkins	Mr. Hughes	Mr. Corser
Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Williams	Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. McDonald
Mr. Fraser	Tellers:		
Mr. Holloway	Mr. Fuller		
Mr. Johnson Mr. Jonatra	Mr. Sheehan		
Mr. Langtry		I	
And so it was resolved in		haine a constituelly must	
And the question—That the motion be agreed to—being accordingly put— The House divided (The Deputy Speaker, Mr. Clark, in the Chair)—			
		.a, in one enang-	Noon 99
	.yes, 23.	Mr Dama-J	Noes, 33.
Mr. Adermann Mr. Baala	Dame Enid Lyons Mr. McEwen	Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley	Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Lemmon
Mr. Beale Mr. Bowden	Mr. McLwen Mr. Menzies	Mrs. Blackburn	Mr. McLeod
Mr. Cameron	Mr. Rankin	Mr. Brennan	Mr. O'Connor
Mr. Davidson	Mr. Ryan	Mr. Calwell	Mr. Pollard
Mr. Fadden	Mr. Spender	Mr. Chambers	Mr. Riordan
Mr. Falkinder	Mr. Turnbull	Mr. Chifley	Mr. Russell
Mr. Hamilton	Mr. White	Mr. Conelan	Mr. Scully
Mr. Harrison		Mr. Daly Mr. Dodmon	Mr. Sheehy
Mr. Holt	Tellers:	Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford	Mr. Thompson Mr. Word
Mr. Howse	Mr. Corser	Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie	Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins
Mr. Hughes Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. McDonald	Mr. Edmonds	Mr. Watkins Mr. Williams
		Mr. Fraser	
		Mr. Holloway	
		Mr. Johnson	Tellers:
		Mr. Lang	Mr. Fuller
		Mr. Langtry	Mr. Sheehan
And so it may pagetis	hav		

And so it was negatived.

9. ADJOURNMENT.-Mr. Holloway (Minister for Labour and National Service) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

.

306

And then the House, at twenty-three minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Abbott, Mr. Anthony, Mr. Burke, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Falstein, Mr. Francis, Mr. Gaha, Mr. Gullett, Mr. Hadley, Mr. Haylen, Mr. James, Mr. Lawson, Mr. McBride, Mr. Mulcahy, Sir Earle Page, Mr. Rosevear and Mr. Scullin.

> F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Anthority: L. F. JOHNSTON, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.

307