1948.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

AND PROCEEDINGS VOTES

OF THE

HOUSE **REPRESENTATIVES** OF

No. 21.

THURSDAY, 7TH OCTOBER, 1948.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment .-- The Deputy Speaker (Mr. Clark) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. DISTINGUISHED VISITOR .- Mr. Deputy Speaker informed the House that Mr. A. Blenkinsop, Parliamentary Secretary of the Ministry of Pensions of the United Kingdom and a Member of the House of Commons, was within the precincts. The distinguished visitor thereupon, with the concurrence of honorable Members, was provided with a seat on the floor of the House.

3. PAPER.—The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute-

Commonwealth Electoral Act-Report, with Maps, by the Commissioners appointed for the purpose of redistributing the State of South Australia into Electoral Divisions.

Ordered-That the Report be printed.

- 4. PROPOSED MOTION OF PRIVILEGE.-Mr. Fadden proposing to move, as a motion of Privilege. That it is a breach of Privilege that the Right Honorable the Leader of the Country Party should be interrogated or sought to be interrogated by Security Police at the instigation of the Prime Minister and the Government in the precincts of Parliament and in his official room in respect of matters occurring in and arising out of the discharge of his public duties in this National Parliament-
 - Deputy Speaker's Ruling .-- Mr. Deputy Speaker ruled that no claim of breach of Privilege could be sustained and a prima facie case had not been made out in respect of the proposed motion which would justify the matter taking precedence over other business.
 - Dissent from Deputy Speaker's Ruling.—Mr. Harrison (Acting Leader of the Opposition) handed in, in writing, the following objection to the Ruling :—That the Ruling of the Deputy Speaker—that no claim of breach of Privilege could be sustained and that a prima facie case had not been made out in respect of the proposed motion of Privilege submitted by the Right Honorable the Leader of the Country Party which would justify the matter taking precedence over other business-be disagreed with.

The debate thereon was forthwith adjourned to the next sitting.

5. SUPPLY-ESTIMATES 1948-49 .- The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Defence and Post-war (1939-45) Charges-

Vote--- "Defence and Service Departments, £48,722,000 "---

- Vote—" Supply and Development, £8,063,000 "-Vote—" Reciprocal Lend-Lease, £100,000 "-
- Vote-" Re-establishment and Repatriation, £29,047,000 "-
- Vote—" International Relief and Rehabilitation, £3,640,000 "— Vote—" Subsidies, £19,700,000 "—

- Vote—" Miscellaneous, £1,634,000 "—
- considered together.

Votes debated.

Mr. Harrison (Acting Leader of the Opposition) moved, as an amendment, That Division No. 191 .-Administrative (Miscellaneous-Attorney-General's Department)-be reduced by £1.

Debate continued.

Limitation of Debate.-At six o'clock p.m., the Temporary Chairman (Mr. Watkins) having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Votes had expired-

Question-That the Division proposed to be reduced be so reduced-put.

F.4574.

The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. Watkins, in the Chair)-

A	yes, 23.	N	oes, 32.
Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Beale Mr. Bowden Mr. Cameron Mr. Cameron Mr. Fadden Mr. Falkinder Mr. Falkinder Mr. Gullett Mr. Hamilton Mr. Harrison Mr. Hutchinson Dame Enid Lyons	Mr. McBride Mr. McEwen Sir Earle Page Mr. Rankin Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender Mr. Turnbull Mr. White <i>Tellers</i> : Mr. Corser Mr. McDonald	Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mrs. Blackburn Mr. Brennan Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Clark Mr. Conelan Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Falstein Mr. Fraser Mr. Holloway	Mr. Langtry Mr. Lawson Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Lemmon Mr. McLeod Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Williams <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Fuller
		Mr. Johnson	Mr. Sheehan

And so it was negatived.

Further question-That the Votes be agreed to-put and passed.

Vote--" Miscellaneous Services, £7,549,000 "-

Vote---- "Refunds of Revenue, £10,000,000 "----

Vote---- "Advance to the Treasurer, £10,000,000 "----

Vote----- War (1914-18) Services, £1,137,000 "---

considered together.

Votes debated.

Limitation of Debate.—At nine o'clock p.m., the Temporary Chairman (Mr. Lazzarini) having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Votes had expired—

Question-That the Votes be agreed to-put.

The Committee divided (The Temporary Chairman, Mr. Lazzarini, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 33.		N	Noes, 23.		
Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mrs. Blackburn Mr. Brennan Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Clark Mr. Conelan	Mr. Langtry Mr. Lawson Mr. Lemmon Mr. McLeod Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell	Mr. Adermann Mr. Anthony Mr. Beale Mr. Bowden Mr. Cameron Mr. Davidson Mr. Fadden Mr. Falkinder	Dame Enid Lyons Mr. McBride Mr. McEwen Sir Earle Page Mr. Rankin Mr. Ryan Mr. Turnbull Mr. White		
Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Falstein Mr. Fraser Mr. Holloway Mr. Johnson	Mr. Scully Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins Mr. Williams <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Fuller	Mr. Gullett Mr. Hamilton Mr. Harrison Mr. Hughes Mr. Hutchinson	Tellers: Mr. Corser Mr. McDonald		
Mr. Lang	Mr. Sheehan				

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Vote-" Commonwealth Railways, £1,886,000 "-

Vote—" Postmaster-General's Department, £32,220,000 " considered together.

Votes debated.

Limitation of Debate.—At eleven o'clock p.m., the Temporary Chairman (Mr. Lazzarini) having called the attention of the Committee to the fact that the time allotted for the Votes had expired— Question—That the Votes be agreed to—put.

I	lyes, 33.		Noes, 22.
Mr. Barnard Mr. Beazley Mrs. Blackburn Mr. Brennan Mr. Calwell Mr. Chambers Mr. Clark Mr. Conelan Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Duthie Mr. Edmonds Mr. Falstein Mr. Fraser Mr. Holloway	Mr. Langtry Mr. Lawson Mr. Lemmon Mr. McLeod Mr. O'Connor Mr. Pollard Mr. Riordan Mr. Russell Mr. Scully Mr. Thompson Mr. Ward Mr. Watkins Mr. Williams Tellers:	Mr. Anthony Mr. Beale Mr. Bowden Mr. Cameron Mr. Davidson Mr. Fadden Mr. Falkinder Mr. Gullett Mr. Hamilton Mr. Harrison Mr. Hutchinson	Моев, 22. Мг. Мг. Мг. Мг. Мг. Мг. Мг. Мг. Мг. Мг
Mr. Johnson Mr. Lang	Mr. Fuller Mr. Sheehan		

Mr. McDonald

Sir Earle Page Mr. Rankin Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender Mr. Turnbull Mr. White Tellers: Mr. Corser

Mr. McBride Mr. McEwen

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Lazzarini reported accordingly. Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

6. PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE-REPORT.-Mr. Rankin (Vice-Chairman) brought up the following Report from the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works :-

Report relating to the proposed erection of an Office Building to house Commonwealth Departments in Brisbane.

- 7. ADJOURNMENT.-Mr. Dedman (Minister for Defence) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued. Question-put and passed.
- And then the House, at fifteen minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to morrow at half-past ten o'clock a.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT .-- All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Abbott, Mr. Burke, Mr. Evatt, Mr. Francis, Mr. Gaha, Mr. Hadley, Mr. Haylen, Mr. Holt, Mr. Howse, Mr. James, Mr. Menzies, Mr. Mulcahy, Mr. Rosevear, Mr. Scullin and Mr. Sheehy.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

By Authority: L. F. JOHNSTON Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.