1945.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 30.

WEDNESDAY, 16TH MAY, 1945.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable J. S. Rosevear) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. THIRD VICTORY LOAN-MINISTERIAL STATEMENT.-Mr. Chifley (Treasurer), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement announcing the result of the Third Victory Loan.
- 3. TRANSPORT OF ONIONS-MINISTERIAL STATEMENT .- Mr. Ward (Minister for Transport), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement with reference to the transport of onions from South Australia. Mr. Cameron, by leave, also made a Statement on the matter.
- 4. PAPERS .- The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute-
 - Arbitration (Public Service) Act-Determination by the Arbitrator, &c.-1945-No. 21-Arms, Explosives and Munition Workers' Federation; Amalgamated Engineering Union; Australasian Society of Engineers; Blacksmiths' Society of Australasia; Electrical Trades Union of Australia; Federated Engine-drivers' and Firemen's Association of Australasia ; and Plumbers and Gasfitters Employees' Union of Australia.
 - Lands Acquisition Act-Land acquired for Postal purposes-Victoria Park East, Western Australia.
- 5. RE-ESTABLISHMENT AND EMPLOYMENT BILL 1945 .- The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time. Debate resumed.

Mr. Anthony moved, That Mr. Spender be granted an extension of time. Question-put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Rosevear, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 18. Noes, 32. Mr. Abbott Sir Earle Page Mr. Barnard Mr. Lawson Mr. Anthony Mr. Bowden Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Rankin Mr. Breen Mr. Ryan Mr. Spender Mr. Bryson Mr. Lemmon Mr. Cameron Mr. Burke Mr. McLeod Mr. Fadden Sir Frederick Stewart Mr. Calwell Mr. Morgan Mr. Harrison Mr. Holt Mr. Mountjoy Mr. Mulcahy Mr. White Mr. Chifley Mr. Clark Tellers: Mr. Hughes Mr. Conelan Mr. Riordan Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Corser Mr. Daly Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehy Mr. McDonald Mr. Guy Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Smith Mr. Ward Mr. Williams Mr. Fraser Mr. Frost Mr. Hadley Tellers: Mr. Haylen Mr. Holloway Mr. Martens

Mr. Langtry

Mr. Sheehan

And so it was negatived.

Debate continued.

Mr. Abbott moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—That the debate be now adjourned—put and passed. Ordered—That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

adjourn. Debate ensued. Mr. Harrison moved, Question—put.	Dedman (Minister for Post-wa That Mr. Holt be granted an The Speaker, Mr. Rosevear, in	extension of time.	oved, That the House do now
Ayes, 12.		Noes, 22.	
Mr. Abbott Mr. Anthony Mr. Bowden Mr. Cameron Mr. Fadden Mr. Harrison Mr. Holt	Mr. McDonald Mr. Rankin Mr. Spender <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Corser Sir Frederick Stewart	Mr. Barnard Mr. Bryson Mr. Calwell Mr. Chifley Mr. Conelan Mr. Daly Mr. Dedman Mr. Drakeford Mr. Fraser Mr. Frost Mr. Haylen Mr. Holloway	Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Makin Mr. McLeod Mr. Riordan Mr. Scully Mr. Sheehan Mr. Smith Mr. Ward <i>Tellers:</i> Mr. Lawson Mr. Morgan
And so it was negativ Debate continued. Question—put and p			

And then the House, at twenty-one minutes to twelve o'clock midnight, adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.- All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except Mr. Adermann, Mr. Blain*, Mr. Brennan, Mr. Chambers, Mr. Coles, Mr. Curtin, Mr. Evatt*, Mr. Falstein, Mr. Forde*, Mr. Gaha, Mr. James, Dame Enid Lyons, Mr. McEwen*, Mr. Pollard*, Mr. Russell, Mr. Watkins*, and Mr. Wilson.

• On leave.

F. C. GREEN, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

84