## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

#### REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

No. 59.

### FRIDAY, 1st NOVEMBER, 1935.

- 1. The House met, at half-past ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. J. Bell) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. PAPER. -The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General:--Sugar Agreement—Fourth Annual Report of the Fruit Industry Sugar Concession Committee, for year ended 31st August, 1935.

Ordered to lie on the Table.

- 3. THE LATE MR. G. A. MAXWELL, K.C.-Mr. Speaker informed the House that he had received from Mrs. Maxwell a letter thanking the House for its Resolution of sympathy.
- 4. WHEAT AND WHEAT PRODUCTS BILL. -The Order of the Day having been read for the second reading--Mr. Earle Page (Minister for Commerce) moved, That the Bill be now read a second time. Mr. Albert Green moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question-That the debate be now adjourned-put and passed.

- Ordered- That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.
- 5. Sanctions Bill.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time— Debate resumed.

Mr. Curtin addressing the House and not having concluded his speech at the termination of the time allowed by Standing Order No. 257B-

Ordered-That the honorable Member have leave to continue his speech.

Debate continued.

Declaration of Bill as Urgent Bill .-- Mr. Menzies (Attorney-General) having declared that the Bill was an Urgent Bill-

Question-That the Bill be considered an Urgent Bill-put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)-

#### Ayes, 30.

#### Mr. McClelland Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. A. G. Cameron Mr. McEwen Sir Donald Cameron Mr. Menzies Mr. A. G. Cameron Mr. Nairn Mr. Casey Mr. Nock Mr. Earle Page Mr. Thomas Collins Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. Parkhill Mr. Fisken Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Roland Green Mr. Prowse Mr. Stacey Mr. Thorby Sir Littleton Groom Mr. E. J. Harrison

Mr. Hunter Mr. Jennings

Mr. Lane Mr. Gardner Mr. Lyons Mr. Thompson Mr. McCall

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Mr. White

Tellers:

## Noes, 24.

Mr. Lazzarini Mr. Baker Mr. G. W. Mahoney Mr. W. Maloney Mr. Barnard Mr. Beasley Mr. Blackburn Mr. Martens Mr. Riordan Mr. Brennan Mr. Clark Mr. Rosevear Mr. Curtin Mr. Scullin Mr. Drakeford Mr. Forde Mr. Ward Mr. D. O. Watkins Mr. Garden

Mr. Albert Green

Mr. Holloway

Mr. James

### Tellers:

Mr. Gander

Mr. George Lawson

1st November, 1935.

Allotment of Time.—Mr. Menzies then moved, That the time allotted in connexion with the Bill be as follows :-

(a) For the second reading, until 9 p.m. on Thursday, 7th November;
(b) For the Committee stage, until 11.15 p.m. on Thursday, 7th November;

(c) For the remaining stages, until 11.45 p.m. on Thursday, 7th November.

Debate ensued.

The time allowed by Standing Order No. 257B for the discussion of the motion having expired— Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 29.		Noes, $24$ .	
Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. A. G. Cameron Sir Donald Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Thomas Collins	Mr. McEwen Mr. Menzies Mr. Nairn Mr. Nock Mr. Earle Page	Mr. Baker Mr. Barnard Mr. Beasley Mr. Blackburn Mr. Brennan	Mr. Lazzarini Mr. G. W. Mahoney Mr. W. Maloney Mr. Martens Mr. Riordan
Mr. Fisken Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Roland Green Sir Littleton Groom Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Hunter	Mr. Parkhill Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Prowse Mr. Stacey Mr. Thorby Mr. White	Mr. Clark Mr. Curtin Mr. Drakeford Mr. Forde Mr. Garden Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Rosevear Mr. Scullin Mr. Ward Mr. D. O. Watkins  Tellers:
Mr. Jennings Mr. Lane Mr. Lyons Mr. McCall Mr. McClelland	Tellers: Mr. Gardner Mr. Thompson	Mr. Holloway Mr. James	Mr. Gander Mr. George Lawson

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Debate resumed on the motion, That the Bill be now read a second time.

Mr. E. J. Harrison moved, That the debate be now adjourned.

Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 24.		Noes, 22.	
Mr. Aubrey Abbott	Mr. McEwen	Mr. Baker	Mr. Lazzarini
Mr. A. G. Cameron	Mr. Menzies	Mr. Barnard	Mr. G. W. Mahoney
Sir Donald Cameron	Mr. Nairn	Mr. Beasley	Mr. W. Maloney
Mr. Casey	Mr. Nock	Mr. Blackburn	Mr. Riordan
Mr. Fisken	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. Brennan	Mr. Rosevear
Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Glark	Mr. Scullin
Sir Littleton Groom	Mr. Stacey	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Ward
Mr. E. J. Harrison	Mr. Thorby	Mr. Drakeford	Mr. D. O. Watkins
Mr. Jennings	Mr. White	Mr. Garden	Tellers:
Mr. Lane	Tellers:	Mr. Albert Green	
Mr. Lyons		Mr. Holloway	Mr. Gander
Mr. McCall	Mr. Gardner	Mr. James	Mr. George Lawson
Mr. McClelland	Mr. Thompson	1	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Ordered-That the resumption of the debate be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

6. Adjournment.—Mr. Lyons (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at seven minutes to four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Wednesday next at three o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Frost\*, Mr. Gregory\*, Sir Henry Gullett\*, Mr. E. F. Harrison, Mr. Holt, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Hutchinson\*, Mr. John Lawson\*, Mr. Makin\*, Sir Charles Marr, Mr. McBride, Mr. Mulcahy, Mr. Perkins\*, Mr. Price, Mr. Scholfield, and Sir Frederick Stewart\*.

\* On leave.

E. W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.