THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA. CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE REPRESENTATIVES. OF

No. 55.

WEDNESDAY, 26TH OCTOBER, 1932.

- The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable G. H. Mackay) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—Shipping Act—Commonwealth Shipping Board—

Australian Commonwealth Line of Steamers-

Treasury Loan Account as at 30th April, 1932, with the Auditor-General's Certificate. Liquidation Account for year ended 30th April, 1932, with the Auditor-General's

Cockatoo Island-Balance-sheet as at 31st March, 1932, with the Auditor-General's Certificate.

3. Supply [Estimates, 1932-33].—The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

Postponed Vote-" The Attorney-General's Department, £142,500"-

Mr. Blakeley moved, as an amendment, That Division No. 33, Public Service Arbitrator's Office, £1,190, be reduced by £1.

Question—That the amount proposed to be reduced be so reduced—put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 15.		Noes, 33.
Mr. Baker Mr. Beasley Mr. Blakeley Mr. Forde Mr. Gabb Mr. Albert Green Mr. Holloway Mr. George Lawson Mr. W. Maloney	Mr. Martens Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Ward Tellers: Mr. Gander Mr. Watkins	Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. Blacklow Mr. Marr Mr. Malcolm Cameron Mr. Maxwell Mr. Casey Mr. Nairn Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. Nock Mr. Dein Mr. Parkhill Mr. Dennis Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Fenton Mr. Perkins Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Price Mr. Gibson Mr. Roland Green Mr. Scholfield Mr. Rogeory Mr. Gregory Mr. Thompson Mr. Guy Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Hutchinson Mr. Jennings Mr. Gardner Mr. Hunter

And so it was negatived.

Vote further debated and agreed to.

Postponed Vote—"The Department of the Interior, £355,000"—debated and agreed to.

Postponed Vote—"The Department of Defence, £2,995,000"—debated—

Mr. Nairn moved, as an amendment, That the Item "Secretary, £2,000" be reduced by £500. Debate continued.

Closure moved.—Mr. Rosevear moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put and negatived.

Debate continued.

26th and 27th October, 1932.

The Committee continuing to sit until after midnight—

THURSDAY, 27TH OCTOBER, 1932.

Closure moved.—Mr. Rosevear moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put and negatived.

Debate continued.

Closure.—Mr. Gander moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put and passed.

And the question—That the amount proposed to be reduced be so reduced—being accordingly put— The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 18.		Noes, 21.	
Mr. Beasley Mr. Dein Mr. Dennis Mr. Gabb Mr. Gregory Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. Hutchin Mr. Hutchinson Mr. James Mr. Lane	Mr. John Lawson Mr. Nairn Mr. Prowse Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Ward Tellers: Mr. Gander Mr. E. C. Riley	Mr. Aubrey Abbott Mr. Blacklow Mr. Blakeley Mr. Malcolm Cameron Mr. Forde Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Albert Green Mr. Roland Green Mr. Guy Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Holloway Mr. Makin	Mr. McBride Mr. Nock

And so it was negatived.

Mr. Nairn moved, as an amendment, That the Item "Defence Liaison Officer, £2,000" be reduced by £500.

Debate ensued.

Question—That the amount proposed to be reduced be so reduced—put.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. Bell, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 13.		Noes, 27.		
Mr. Beasley Mr. Blakeley Mr. Forde Mr. Gabb Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. Makin Mr. Nairn	Mr. Riordan Mr. Rosevear Mr. Ward Tellers: Mr. Gander Mr. E. C. Riley	Mr. Malcolm Cameron Mr. Casey Mr. Dein Mr. Dennis Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Albert Green Mr. Roland Green Mr. Guy Mr. E. F. Harrison Mr. E. J. Harrison Mr. Hutchin Mr. Hutchinson	Mr. Marr	

And so it was negatived.

Vote further debated and agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. Bell reported accordingly. Resolved—That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

4. ADJOURNMENT.—Mr. Parkhill (Postmaster-General) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question-put and passed.

And then the House, at seven minutes past one o'clock in the morning, adjourned until this day at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Anstey, Mr. Bruce*, Mr. Thomas Collins, Mr. Gullett, Mr. Hawker, Mr. Hill, Mr. Holman, Mr. Hughes*, Mr. Latham, Mr. Lyons, Mr. McGrath, Mr. Nelson, Mr. Earle Page, and Mr. Frederick Stewart.

* On leave.

E. W. PARKES,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.