1929-30-31.

THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA. CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

No. 169.

WEDNESDAY, 8TH JULY, 1931.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Norman J. O. Makin) took the Chair, and offered Prayers.
- 2. MINISTERIAL STATEMENT—REPARATIONS AND INTER-GOVERNMENTAL DEBTS—PROPOSAL BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.—Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister), by leave, made a Ministerial Statement informing the House that advices had been received that an agreement in principle had been reached between the United States of America and France in regard to Reparations and Inter-Governmental Debts.
- 3. PAPERS.—The following Papers were presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General— Nauru—Report to the Council of the League of Nations on the Administration of Nauru during the year 1930.

New Guinea-Report to the Council of the League of Nations on the Administration of the Territory of New Guinea from 1st July, 1929, to 30th June, 1930.

Severally ordered to lie on the Table, and to be printed.

The following Paper was presented, pursuant to Statute-

- Seat of Government Acceptance Act and Seat of Government (Administration) Act—Ordinance of 1931—No. 12—Cotter River.
- 4. FINANCIAL EMERGENCY BILL.—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question, That the Bill be now read a second time.— Debate resumed.

Member named and suspended.—Mr. Bernard Corser persisting in interjecting when directed by Mr. Speaker to refrain from so doing, was named by Mr. Speaker for disregarding the authority of the Chair.

Mr. Theodore (Treasurer) moved, That the honorable Member for Wide Bay (Mr. Bernard Corser) be suspended from the service of the House. Question—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Makin, in the Chair)---

	1	
Ayes , 40.		
Mr. Anstey	Mr. Lazzarini	
' Mr. Beasley	Mr. Long	
Mr. Bell	Mr. Lyons	
Mr. Blakeley	Mr. W. Maloney	
Mr. Brennan	Mr. Martens	
Mr. Chifley	Mr. Maxwell	
	Mr. McNeill	
Mr. Crouch	Mr. Parker Moloney	
Mr. Culley	Mr. Parkhill	
Mr. Cunningham	Mr. Prowse	
Mr. Cusack	Mr. Edward Riley	
Mr. Eldridge	Mr. Riordan	
Mr. Forde	Mr. Rowe	
Mr. Frost	Mr. Theodore	
Mr. Gibbons	Mr. Tully	
Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Watkins	
Mr. Holloway	Mr. Yates	
Mr. Jones	(T) - 11	
Mr. Keane	Tellers:	
Mr. Lacey	Mr. Bayley	
Mr. Latham	Mr. E. C. Riley	
And so it was resolved in the affirmative.		

Noes, 8. Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. Fenton Mr. Gabb Mr. Hill Mr. Hunter Mr. Killen *Tellers*: Mr. Price Mr. Thompson 8th July, 1931.

The honotable Member was, therefore, under Standing Order No. 59, suspended for the remainder of the day's sitting, and he accordingly withdrew from the Chamber. Debate continued.

Question—That the Bill be now read a second time—put.

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Makin, in the Chair)-

THO HOUSE divided (THE	Spoundi, main stamming - a vice .	/
Ayes	, 44.	Noes, 16.
Mr. Bell	Mr. Latham	Mr. Anstey
Mr. Blakeley	Mr. Lyons	Mr. Beasley
Mr. Brennan	Mr. Mackay	Mr. Culley
Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Marks	Mr. Eldridge
Mr. Malcolm Cameron	n Mr. Marr	Mr. Holloway
Mr. Chifley	Mr. Maxwell	Mr. Keane
Mr. Coleman	Mr. McGrath	Mr. Lacey
	Mr. McNeill	Mr. Lazzarini
Mr. Cunningham	Mr. Parker Moloney	Mr. Long
Mr. Cusack	Mr. Nairn	Mr. W. Maloney
Mr. Fenton	Mr. Parkhill	Mr. Martens
Mr. Forde	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. Edward Rile
	Mr. Price	Mr. Riordan
	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Watkins
	Mr. Scullin	
	Mr. Theodore	T ellers :
	Mr. Thompson	Mr. E. C. Riley
Mr. Gregory	Mr. Tully	Mr. Yates
Mr. Gullett	Mr. White	
Mr. Hawker	(Pollow)	
Mr. Hill	Tellers:	
Mr. Jones	Mr. Bayley	
Mr. Killen	Mr. Hunter	
	· · · · · · · · · · · · ·	

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.-Bill read a second time. Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.

(In the Committee.)

Clause 1-

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed ; Mr. McGrath reported accordingly. Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. TEMPORARY CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES.-The following Warrant, nominating a Temporary Chairman of Committees, pursuant to Standing Order No. 25, was laid upon the Table by Mr. Speaker :---

The Parliament of the Commonwealth.

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

Pursuant to the provisions of the Standing Order numbered 25, I do hereby nominate-The Honorable Charles Ernest Culley

to act in the place of the Honorable Joseph Benedict Chifley as Temporary Chairman of Committees when requested so to do by the Chairman of Committees.

Given under my hand this eighth day of July, One thousand nine hundred and thirty-one.

NORMAN J. O. MAKIN,

Speaker.

- 6. ADJOURNMENT.-Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at four minutes to eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT .--- All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except--- Mr. Curtin, Mr. Josiah Francis, Mr. Roland Green, Mr. Guy, Mr. James, Mr. Lewis, Mr. Mathews*, Mr. Earle Page*, and Mr. Ward*.

• On leave.

E. W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.

Riley

714

By Authority: H. J. GREEN, Government Printer, Canberra.