THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA. CANBERRA.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE REPRESENTATIVES. OF

No. 140.

FRIDAY, 8TH MAY, 1931.

- 1. The House met, at eleven o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Norman J. O. Makin) took the Chair, and offered Prayers.
- 2. Suspension of Standing Orders—Precedence to Want of Confidence Motion.—Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, by leave, That so much of the Standing and Sessional Orders be suspended as would prevent the Notice of Motion No. 1 (Want of Confidence in the Government) taking precedence of all other Business until disposed of. Question—put and passed.
- 3. Want of Confidence in the Government.—Mr. Lyons (Leader of the Opposition) moved, pursuant to notice, That this House condemns the Government for its failure to take steps which are within its power to safeguard the Commonwealth against national default, with its inevitable consequences of extension of unemployment, distress and suffering; and that accordingly the Government no longer possesses the confidence of this House.

Mr. Earle Page addressing the House and not having concluded his speech at the termination of

the time allowed by Standing Order No. 257B—

Extension of time.—Mr. Thomas Paterson moved, pursuant to Standing Order No. 257B, That the Right Honorable Member for Cowper have leave to continue his speech. Question—put.

> Noes, 4. Mr. Beasley Mr. James

Tellers: Mr. Eldridge Mr. Ward

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Makin, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 62.					
Mr. Anstey	Mr. Latham				
Mr. Anstey Mr. Blakeley Mr. Brennan	Mr. Lewis				
Mr. Brennan	Mr. Long				
Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Lyons				
Mr. Malcolm Cameron	nMr. Mackay				
Mr. Chifley	Mr. W. Maloney				
Mr. Coleman	Mr. Marks				
Mr. Bernard Corser	Mr. Marr				
Mr. Crouch	Mr. Martens				
Mr. Cunningham	Mr. Maxwell				
M.r. Curtin	Mr. McNeill				
Mr. Cusack	Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. Morgan				
Mr. Fenton	Mr. Morgan				
Mr. Forde	Mr. Nairn				
Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Earle Page				
Mr. Gabb	Mr. Parkhill				
Mr. Gardner	Mr. Thomas Paterson				
Mr. Gibbons	Mr. Price				
	Mr. Prowse				
Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Edward Riley				
Mr. Gregory	Mr. Riordan				
Mr. Gullett	Mr. Rowe				
Mr. Guy	Mr. Scullin				
Mr. Hawker	Mr. Stewart				
Mr. Hill	Mr. Tully Mr. Watkins				
Mr. Holloway	Mr. Watkins				
Mr. Hughes	Mr. White				
Mr. Hunter	Mr. Yates				
Mr. Jones					
Mr. Keane	Tellers:				
Mr. Killen	Mr. Bayley				
Mr. Lacey	Mr. E. C. Riley				
4 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	.1 00				

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

8th May, 1931.

Mr. Earle Page continued and concluded his speech.

Mr. Ward rising to address the House-

Closure.-Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.
The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Makin, in the Chair)—

Ayes, 34.		Noes, 32.	
Mr. Anstey	Mr. Lacey	Mr. Donald Cameron	Mr. Marks
Mr. Beasley	Mr. Lewis	Mr. Malcolm Camero	
Mr. Blakeley	Mr. Long	Mr. Bernard Corser	Mr. Maxwell
Mr. Brennan	Mr. W. Maloney	Mr. Fenton	Mr. Morgan
Mr. Chifley	Mr. Martens	Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Nairn
Mr. Coleman	Mr. McNeill	Mr. Gabb	Mr. Earle Page
Mr. Crouch	Mr. Parker Moloney	Mr. Gardner	Mr. Parkhill
Mr. Cunningham	Mr. Edward Riley	Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Thomas Paterson
Mr. Curtin	Mr. Riordan	Mr. Gregory	Mr. Price
Mr. Cusack	Mr. Rowe	Mr. Gullett	Mr. Prowse
Mr. Eldridge	Mr. Scullin	Mr. Guy	Mr. Stewart
Mr. Forde	Mr. Tully	Mr. Hawker	Mr. White
Mr. Gibbons	Mr. Ward	Mr. Hill ⁵	
Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Yates	Mr. Hughes	
Mr. Holloway		Mr. Killen	Tellers:
Mr. James	Tellers:	Mr. Latham	
Mr. Jones	Mr. E. C. Riley	Mr. Lyons	Mr. Bayley
Mr. Keane	Mr. Watkins	Mr. Mackay	Mr. Hunter

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the question—That the motion be agreed to—being accordingly put—

The House divided (The Speaker, Mr. Makin, in the Chair)-

Ayes,	32.	Noes,	34.
Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Malcolm Cameron Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. Fenton	Mr. Marks Mr. Marr	Mr. Anstey Mr. Beasley Mr. Beasley Mr. Blakeley Mr. Brennan Mr. Chifley Mr. Coleman Mr. Crouch Mr. Cunningham Mr. Curtin Mr. Cusack Mr. Eldridge Mr. Forde Mr. Gibbons Mr. Albert Green Mr. Holloway Mr. James Mr. Jones Mr. Keane	Mr. Lacey Mr. Lewis Mr. Long Mr. W. Maloney Mr. Martens Mr. McNeill Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. Edward Riley Mr. Riordan Mr. Rowe Mr. Scullin Mr. Tully Mr. Ward Mr. Yates Tellers: Mr. E. C. Riley Mr. Watkins
And so it was negatived.	V		•

And so it was negatived.

- 4. Suspension of Standing Orders.—Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, by leave, That the Standing Orders be suspended to enable Questions upon Notice to be answered. Question—put and passed.
- 5. Papers.—The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute— Passports Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1931, No. 40. Public Service Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1931, No. 46.
 Service and Execution of Process Act—Regulations Amended—Statutory Rules 1931, No. 44.
- 6. Adjournment.—Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at fourteen minutes to four o'clock p.m., adjourned until Tuesday next at three o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Bell, Mr. Culley, Mr. Frost, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. Mathews, Mr. McGrath, Mr. Theodore, and Mr. Thompson.

E. W. PARKES,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.