THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

VOTES PROCEEDINGS AND

REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE

No. 79.

MONDAY, 28TH JULY, 1930.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Norman J. O. Makin) took the Chair, and offered Prayers.
- 2. Papers.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General— Hop Industry-Report by the Honorable J. A. Gunn (Director of Development). Ordered to lie on the Table, and to be printed.

The following Papers were presented, pursuant to Statute—

Cotton Bounty Act—Return for 1929-30.

Iron and Steel Products Bounty Act—Return for 1929–30. Papua and New Guinea Bounties Act—Return for 1929–30.

Power Alcohol Bounty Act—Return for 1929-30. Shale Oil Bounty Act—Return for 1929-30.

Sulphur Bounty Act—Return for 1929-30. Wine Export Bounty Act—Return for 1929-30.

- 3. ALTERATION OF HOUR OF NEXT MEETING .-- Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, That the House, at its rising, adjourn until half-past two o'clock p.m. to-morrow. Question—put and passed.
- 4. Supply [Budget Debate] .- The House, according to Order, resolved itself into the Committee of Supply.

(In the Committee.)

General debate resumed on the question (see page 294), That the first item in the Estimates for Additions, New Works, Buildings, &c., under Division I.—The Department of Defence—namely— Naval establishments-Machinery and plant, £1,500,

be agreed to, and on the Amendment moved thereto by Mr. Latham, That the first item be reduced by £Ĭ.

Closure.-Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, That the question-That the first item be reduced by £1, be now put—put and passed.

And the question-That the first item be reduced by £1-being accordingly put-The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. McGrath, in the Chair)-

> Ayes, 19. Noes, 34.

Mr. Bell Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Malcolm Cameron Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Gregory Mr. Gullett Mr. Latham Mr. Mackay Mr. Morgan Mr. Nairn	Mr. Earle Page Mr. Parkhill Mr. Thomas Paterson Mr. Prowse Mr. Thompson Mr. White T'ellers: Mr. Bayley Mr. Hunter	Mr. Beasley Mr. Blakeley Mr. Chifley Mr. Culley Mr. Cunningham Mr. Cusack Mr. Eldridge Mr. Fenton Mr. Forde Mr. Frost Mr. Gabb Mr. Gibbons Mr. Albert Green Mr. Guy Mr. James Mr. Jones Mr. Keane Mr. Lacey	Mr. Long Mr. Lyons Mr. Martens Mr. McNeill Mr. McTiernan Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. Edward Riley Mr. Riordan Mr. Rowe Mr. Scullin Mr. Tully Mr. West Mr. Yates Tellers: Mr. Price
		Mr. Lewis	Mr. E. C. Rilev

And so it was negatived.

Mr. Malcolm Cameron moved, as an amendment, That the first item be reduced by 10s.

Debate continued.

Question-That the first item be reduced by 10s.-put.

F.3014.

The Committee divided (The Chairman, Mr. McGrath, in the Chair)-

Ayes, 19.		Noes, 34.	
Mr. Bell Mr. Donald Cameron Mr. Malcolm Cameron Mr. Bernard Corser Mr. Josiah Francis Mr. Gregory Mr. Gullett Mr. Latham Mr. Mackay Mr. Morgan Mr. Nairu		Mr. Beasley Mr. Blakeley Mr. Chifley Mr. Culley Mr. Cunningham Mr. Cusack Mr. Eldridge Mr. Fenton Mr. Forde Mr. Frost Mr. Gabb Mr. Gibbons Mr. Albert Green Mr. Guy Mr. James Mr. Jones Mr. Keane Mr. Lacey Mr. Lewis	Mr. Long Mr. Lyons Mr. Martens Mr. McNeill Mr. McTiernan Mr. Parker Moloney Mr. Edward Riley Mr. Riordan Mr. Rowe Mr. Scullin Mr. Tully Mr. West Mr. Yates Mr. Price Mr. E. C. Riley

And so it was negatived. First item agreed to.

Progress to be reported, and leave asked to sit again.

The House resumed; Mr. McGrath reported accordingly.

Resolved-That the House will, at the next sitting, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

5. Adjournment.—Mr. Scullin (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at twenty-eight minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Anstey, Mr. Brennan, Mr. Coleman*, Mr. Crouch, Mr. Curtin, Mr. Gardner, Mr. Roland Green, Mr. Hawker, Mr. Hill, Mr. Holloway, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Killen*, Mr. Lazzarini, Mr. W. Maloney, Mr. Marks, Mr. Mathews*, Mr. Maxwell, Mr. Stewart, Mr. Theodore, and Mr. Watkins.

• On leave.

E. W. PARKES,

Clerk of the House of Representatives.