THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, CANBERRA.

No. 5.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

THURSDAY, 14TH FEBRUARY, 1929.

- 1. The House met, at half-past two o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Sir Littleton Groom) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Presentation of Address in Reply.—Mr. Speaker reported that, accompanied by honorable Members, he had that day waited upon His Excellency the Governor-General at Government House, and had presented to him the Address in Reply to His Excellency's Speech on the Opening of Parliament, agreed to by the House on the 7th instant, and that His Excellency had been pleased to make the following reply:—
 - Mr. Speaker and Gentlemen-

I receive with much pleasure the Address which has been adopted by the House of Representatives in reply to the Speech which I delivered on the occasion of the Opening of the First Session of the Eleventh Parliament of the Commonwealth, and I thank you for your expression of loyalty to His Majesty the King.

- 3. Paper.—The following Paper was presented, by command of His Excellency the Governor-General—Charges against Mr. M. L. Shepherd, Secretary, Department of Defence—Report of Board of Inquiry under Section 56 of the Public Service Act.

 Ordered to lie on the Table.
- 4. Public Accounts Committee (Joint).—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, by leave, That, in accordance with the provisions of the Committee of Public Accounts Act 1913-1920, the following Members be appointed members of the Joint Committee of Public Accounts, viz.:—Mr. Anstey, Mr. Forde, Mr. Grosvenor Francis, Mr. Gardner, Mr. Albert Green, Mr. Roland Green and

Mr. Prowse. Question—put and passed.

5. TRANSPORT WORKERS BILL (1929).—The Order of the Day having been read for the resumption of the debate upon the motion of Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister), That he have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to amend the Transport Workers Act 1928—

Debate resumed by Mr. Scullin, who moved, as an amendment, That the word "amend" be omitted with a view to the insertion of the word "repeal" in place thereof.

Debate continued.

Closure.—Mr. Bruce moved, That the question be now put.

Question—That the question be now put—put.

F.122.

14th February, 1929.

The House divided—					
Ayes, 37.		Noes, 31.			
Mr. Aubrey Abbott	Mr. Latham	Mr. Anstey	Mr. McWilliams		
Mr. Atkinson	Mr. Lister	Mr. Beasley	Mr. Parker Moloney		
Mr. Bayley	Mr. Mackay	Mr. Blakeley	Mr. Price		
Mr. Bowden	Mr. Mann	Mr. Brennan	Mr. Edward Riley		
Mr. Bruce	Mr. Marks	Mr. Chifley	Mr. E. C. Riley		
Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Marr	Mr. Coleman	Mr. Scullin		
Mr. Collins	Mr. Maxwell	Mr. Culley	Mr. Stewart		
Mr. Bernard Corser	Mr. Earle Page	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Theodore		
Mr. Grosvenor Francis	Mr. Parkhill	Mr. Forde	Mr. Tully		
Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Parsons	Mr. Albert Green	Mr. Watkins		
Mr. Gardner	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. James	Mr. West		
Mr. Gibson	Mr. Graham Pratten	Mr. Jones	Mr. Yates		
Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Lazzarini	·		
Mr. Gregory	Mr. Rodgers	Mr. Long	Tellers :		
Mr. Gullett	Mr. Thompson	Mr. W. Maloney	1 ewers:		
Mr. Hill		Mr. Martens	Mr. Fenton		
Sir Neville Howse	Tellers :	Mr. McGrath	Mr. Makin		
Mr. Hurry	1 eners :				
Mr. Jackson	Mr. Hunter				
Mr. Killen	Mr. Perkins	İ			
And so it was resolved in the affirmative.					

And the question being accordingly put-That the word proposed to be omitted stand part of the question-

The House divided—

Ayes, 40.		Noes, 29.			
Mr. Aubrey Abbott	Mr. Latham	Mr. Anstey	Mr. McGrath		
	Mr. Lister	Mr. Beasley	Mr. Parker Moloney		
	Mr. Mackay	Mr. Blakeley	Mr. Price		
	Mr. Mann	Mr. Brennan	Mr. Edward Riley		
	Mr. Marks	Mr. Chifley	Mr. E. C. Riley		
Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Marr	Mr. Coleman	Mr. Scullin		
Mr. Collins	Mr. Maxwell	Mr. Culley	Mr. Theodore		
	Mr. McWilliams	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Tully		
Mr. Grosvenor Francis	Mr. Earle Page	Mr. Forde	Mr. Watkins		
Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Parkhill	Mr. Albert Green	Mr. West		
Mr. Gardner	Mr. Parsons	Mr. James	Mr. Yates		
Mr. Gibson	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. Jones			
Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Graham Pratten	Mr. Lazzarini	Tellers:		
Mr. Gregory	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Long			
Mr. Gullett	Mr. Rodgers	Mr. W. Maloney	Mr. Fenton		
Mr. Hill	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Martens	Mr. Makin		
Sir Neville Howse	Mr. Thompson				
Mr. Hughes	Tallana .				
Mr. Hurry	Tellers:				
Mr. Jackson	Mr. Hunter				
Mr. Killen	Mr. Perkins				
And so it was received in the effermetive					

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

And the main question being accordingly put—That the Prime Minister have leave to bring in a Bill for an Act to amend the Transport Workers Act 1928—The House divided—

McGrath Parker Moloney Price

Edward Riley E. C. Riley Scullin

Theodore Tully Watkins West Yates

Fenton Makin

ľł	ne House divided—				
Ayes, 40.			Noes, 29.		
	Mr. Aubrey Abbott	Mr. Latham	Mr. Anstey	Mr. McGra	
		Mr. Lister	Mr. Beasley	Mr. Parker	
	Mr. Bayley	Mr. Mackay	Mr. Blakeley	Mr. Price	
	Mr. Bowden	Mr. Mann	Mr. Brennan	Mr. Edward	
	Mr. Bruce	Mr. Marks	Mr. Chifley	Mr. E. C. 1	
	Mr. Malcolm Cameron	Mr. Marr	Mr. Coleman	Mr. Scullin	
	Mr. Collins	Mr. Maxwell	Mr. Culley	Mr. Theodo	
	Mr. Bernard Corser	Mr. McWilliams	Mr. Curtin	Mr. Tully	
	Mr. Grosvenor Francis	Mr. Earle Page	Mr. Forde	Mr. Watkir	
	Mr. Josiah Francis	Mr. Parkhill	Mr. Albert Green	Mr. West	
	Mr. Gardner	Mr. Parsons	Mr. James	Mr. Yates	
	Mr. Gibson	Mr. Thomas Paterson	Mr. Jones		
	Mr. Roland Green	Mr. Graham Pratten	Mr. Lazzarini	Ø -11	
	Mr. Gregory	Mr. Prowse	Mr. Long	Tellers :	
	Mr. Gullett	Mr. Rodgers	Mr. W. Maloney	Mr. Fenton	
	Mr. Hill	Mr. Stewart	Mr. Martens	Mr. Makin	
	Sir Neville Howse	Mr. Thompson			
	Mr. Hughes	m 37		•	
	Mr. Hurry	Tellers:		•	
	Mr. Jackson	Mr. Hunter			
	Mr Killen	Mr. Perkins	l		

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES. 14th February, 1929.

Mr. Bruce then brought up the Bill accordingly, and moved, That it be now read a first time. Question—put and passed.—Bill read a first time. Ordered—That the second reading be made an Order of the Day for the next sitting.

6. Public Works Committee (Joint).—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, by leave, That, in accordance with the provisions of the Commonwealth Public Works Committee Act 1913-1921, the following Members be appointed members of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works, viz.:—Mr. Malcolm Cameron, Mr. Coleman, Mr. Josiah Francis, Mr. Gregory, Mr. Jackson and Mr. McGrath.

Question—put and passed.

7. Adjournment.—Mr. Bruce (Prime Minister) moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question—put and passed.

And then the House, at nine minutes past eleven o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at eleven o'clock a.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—Mr. Bell, Mr. Donald Cameron, and Mr. Watt.

E. W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.