## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA. CANBERRA.

No. 168.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## REPRESENTATIVES. HOUSE OF

## WEDNESDAY, 9TH MAY, 1928.

- 1. The House met, at three o'clock p.m., pursuant to adjournment.-Mr. Speaker (the Honorable Sir Littleton Groom) took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Death of Member (the Honorable H. E. Pratten.)-Mr. Latham (Attorney-General) having announced, with deep regret, the death, on the 7th instant, of the honorable Member for Martin (the Honorable Herbert Edward Pratten), moved, by leave, That this House records its sincere regret for the death of the Honorable Herbert Edward Pratten, who was a Member of Parliament since the year 1917 and who held the office of Minister for Trade and Customs since 1924; expresses appreciation of the energy and ability with which he devoted himself to his public duties, and tenders its deep sympathy to his bereaved widow and family in their great sorrow.
  - And Mr. Scullin (Leader of the Opposition) having seconded the motion, and all Members present having risen in silence-Question—passed.
  - Resolved—That Mr. Speaker be requested to transmit to Mrs. Pratten the foregoing Resolution, and a copy of the speeches delivered thereon.
- 3. Adjournment.—Mr. Latham (Attorney-General) then moved, as a mark of respect to the memory of the late honorable gentleman, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and passed.
- And then the House, at twelve minutes past three o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.
- MEMBERS PRESENT.—All Members were present (at some time during the sitting) except—
  Mr. Aubrey Abbott, Mr. Anstey, Mr. Bayley, Mr. Bell, Mr. Bowden, Mr. Brennan, Mr. Bruce,
  Mr. Malcolm Cameron, Mr. Charlton, Mr. Coleman, Mr. Gardner, Mr. Gibson, Mr. Roland Green,
  Sir Neville Howse, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Hurry, Sir Elliot Johnson, Mr. Lambert, Mr. Lazzarini,
  Mr. Ley, Mr. W. Maloney, Mr. Manning, Mr. Marks, Mr. Marr, Mr. Maxwell, Mr. McGrath,
  Mr. Earle Page, Mr. Parkhill, Mr. Thomas Paterson, Mr. Perkins, Mr. Edward Riley, Mr. Stewart,
  Mr. Thomason, Mr. Wetking, and Mr. Wett

By Authority: H J. GREEN, Government Printer, Canberra.

Mr. Theodore, Mr. Thompson, Mr. Watkins, and Mr. Watt.

E. W. PARKES, Clerk of the House of Representatives.