THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 57.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

TUESDAY, 8TH SEPTEMBER, 1903.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Return to Writ (East Sydney Division).—Mr. Speaker announced that he had received a Return to the Writ which he had issued for the election of a Member to serve for the Electoral Division of East Sydney, in the State of New South Wales, in the place of the Right Honorable George Houstoun Reid, resigned, by which it appeared that George Houstoun Reid had been duly elected in pursuance of the said Writ.
- 3. Petition.—Sir William McMillan presented a Petition from James Graham, styling himself chairman of a public meeting of citizens of the Commonwealth, held in Sydney on the 3rd September, instant, in reference to certain gross inequalities alleged to exist between the numbers of electors for various electorates in New South Wales, and praying that delays for which the petitioners are in no way responsible shall not be allowed to prevail as a reason for breaking the existing law, and for depriving tens of thousands of citizens of their just political rights.

Petition received and read.

- 4. CONCILIATION AND ARBITRATION BILL.—The Order of the Day for the further consideration of this Bill in Committee of the whole House having been read—Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.
 - Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair; Mr. Chanter reported that the Committee had made progress in the Bill, and that he was directed to ask, That the Committee may have leave to sit again.

Resolved—That the House will, to-morrow, again resolve itself into the said Committee.

- ADJOURNMENT.—Sir Edmund Barton moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.
- And then the House, at five minutes to ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present except—Sir Edward Braddon*, Mr. Brown, Mr. Clarke, Mr. Winter Cooke, Mr. Cruickshank, Mr. Macdonald-Paterson, Mr. McColl, Mr. F. E. McLean, Mr. Phillips, Mr. Reid, Mr. Bruce Smith, Mr. V. L. Solomon, and Mr. Willis.

On leave.

C. GAVAN DUFFY,.
Clerk of the House of Representatives.