THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 207.

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

TUESDAY, 2ND SEPTEMBER, 1902.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Petitions.—Mr. Hume Cook presented a Petition from John Robertson, of Moonee Ponds, praying that the House will consider the state of the money laws of the Commonwealth and reform them. Petition received.
 - Mr. Tudor presented a Petition from certain Australian manufacturers of cement, praying that the House will not agree to the request of the Senate to reduce the duty on cement to sixpence per cwt.
 - Mr. R. Edwards presented a Petition from certain electors and residents of Woolloongabba, praying that the Post Office now situated at Logan-road, Woolloongabba, may not be removed to Stanley-street, South Brisbane.

Petitions severally received and read.

- 3. Papers.—Sir William Lyne presented, by command of His Excellency the Acting Governor-General— Torpedo Boats and their equipment at Sydney and Melbourne—Report of Board of Officers as to the retention of.
 - Proposed Transcontinental Railway from Kalgoorlie to Port Augusta, viā Tarcoola—Minute by Secretary, Department of Home Affairs, on the Reports by Engineer-in-Chief, Western Australia, and Inspector of Engineering Surveys, Western Australia.

Severally ordered to lie on the Table.

4. Bonuses for Manufactures Bill.—The Order of the Day for the further reconsideration of this Bill in Committee of the whole House having been read—Mr. Watson moved, pursuant to notice, That the Standing Orders be suspended in order to enable him to move, that the Bill be referred to a Select Committee.

Debate ensued.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

Mr. Watson moved, pursuant to notice, That the Bill be referred to a Select Committee, and that such Committee consist of the Minister of Trade and Customs, Sir Edward Braddon, Mr. Joseph Cook, Mr. Winter Cooke, Mr. L. E. Groom, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Kirwan, Mr. Mauger, Mr. Watkins, and the Mover.

Debate ensued.

And the motion having by request been divided-

Question—That the Bill be referred to a Select Committee—put.

The House divided—

ano mada dividos	•		
Ayes, 30.		Noes, 15	
Mr. Bamford,	Sir William	Mr. Chanter,	Mr. McCay,
Sir Langdon	McMillan,	Mr. Deakin,	Mr. Salmon,
Bonython,	Mr. O'Malley,	Sir Philip Fysh,	Mr. Sawers,
Mr. Hume Čook,	Mr. Paterson,	Mr. Higgins,	Mr. Wilkinson.
Mr. Joseph Cook,	Sir John Quick,	Mr. Isaacs,	
Mr. Winter Cooke,	Mr. Skene,	Mr. Kennedy,	/T-11
Mr. R. Edwards,	Mr. Sydney Smith,	Mr. Kingston,	Tellers.
Mr. Fowler,	Mr. E. Solomon,	Sir William Lyne,	Mr. Clarke,
Mr. Fuller,	Mr. Spence,	Mr. Manifold,	Mr. L. E. Groom.
Mr. Glynn,	Mr. Tudor,		
Mr. A. C. Groom,	Mr. Watkins,	1 .	
Mr. Hartnoll,	Mr. Watson,		
Mr. Kirwan,	Mr. Wilks.		•
Mr. Macdonald-			
Paterson,	Tellers.		
Mr. Mahon,	1 eccers.		
Mr. Mauger,	Mr. Batchelor,		
Mr. McDonald,	Mr. Thomas.		

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

2nd September, 1902.

And the remainder of the motion having, by leave, been amended— Question-That such Committee consist of the Minister of Trade and Customs, Sir Edward Braddon, Mr. Joseph Cook, Mr. Winter Cooke, Mr. Fuller, Mr. L. E. Groom, Mr. Hughes, Mr. Kirwan, Mr. Mauger, Mr. McCay, Mr. Watkins, and the Mover—put and resolved in the affirmative.

5. Adjournment.—Mr. Deakin moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued. Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at eleven minutes to six o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow, at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present except—The Prime Minister* (the Right Honorable Sir Edmund Barton, P.C., G.C.M.G.), the Minister of Defence (the Right Honorable Sir John Forrest, P.C., G.C.M.G.), the Right Honorable Sir Edward Braddon, P.C., K.C.M.G., Messrs. Brown, Cameron, Chapman, ** Conroy, Cruickshank, ** G. B. Edwards, Ewing, Fisher, ** Harper, ** Knox, ** McColl, F. E. McLean, Page, Poynton, the Right Honorable G. H. Reid, P.C., Messrs. Bruce Smith, V. L. Solomon, and Willis.

* On leave.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.