

Appendix D - Public hearings and other meetings

Public Hearings

Monday 9 May 2005, Canberra

Individuals

Miss Ionela Cornhill Mr Robert Cornhill Mrs Ann Plohberger Miss Raluca Plohberger

Adoptive Families Association of the ACT

Mr Robert Cornhill, Vice-President Mrs Ann Plohberger, President

Attorney-General's Department, Family Law Branch

Mr Kym Duggan, Assistant Secretary Mr Scott Wilson, Senior Legal Officer, International Family Law Section

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)

Dr Diane Gibson, Head, Welfare Division Ms Susan Kelly, Project Manager, Children, Youth and Families Unit Ms Cynthia Kim, Unit Head, Children, Youth and Families Unit Dr Richard Madden, Director

Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Ms Sue Cubbage, Assistant

Ms Mary-Anne Ellis, Citizenship & Language Services Branch

Mr Greg Mills, Secretary, Migration Branch

Mr Peter Vardos, First Assistant Secretary, Citizenship & Multicultural Affairs

Thursday 21 July 2005, Brisbane

Individuals

Mrs Leith Harding Mrs Kathryn Leckenby Mrs Louise Neilsen Mr Steven Neilson

Australian Council for Adoption Inc

Mrs Rita Carroll, Coordinator & Past President Mrs Doral Law, Secretary

Australian Korean Friendship Group Queensland Inc

Mr Stephen Finkel, President

International Adoptive Families of Queensland

Ms Sharon Byerley, President Mr John Telfer, Vice President

Queensland Taiwan Support Group

Mrs Philippa (Pippa) Evans, Coordinator

8 Community Statement

Friday 22 July 2005, Brisbane

Individuals

Mr Cec Pederson Mr Gerard Walsh Mrs Margaret Walsh

Wednesday 3 August 2005, Melbourne

Individuals

Mr Tobias (Toby) Bottrell Mrs Frances Greenough Mrs Jenny Michaelson Mrs Marilyn Nagesh

Australian Society for Intercountry Aid for Children

Mrs Glenys Chandler

Intercountry Adoption Resource Network Australia Inc

Mrs Marilyn Nagesh, India Program Coordinator Ms Gail Scowcroft, Membership Coordinator & Immediate Past President Ms Jacqui Wilson, Past President

Hanho Children's Association

Mrs Wendy Carlson

13 Community Statements

Wednesday 17 August 2005, Canberra

Individuals

Mr Stewart Turner Ms Lisa Wilson

ACT Government, Office for Children, Youth and Family Support

Ms Susan Mickleburgh, Manager, Client Services Ms Ann Ponsonby, Team Leader, Adoptions Unit Mr Paul Wyles, Director, Client & Adolescent Services

Friday 16 September 2005, Hobart

Individuals

Dr Kathryn Campbell Ms Debra Stainsby

Accepting Children Everywhere

Mr John Forde Mr Geoff Powell Mrs Maria White

Australian African Children's Aid and Support Association Inc.

Rev Ted Sherrin, President

Tasmanian Government, Department of Health & Human Services

Ms Lynette Crawford, Acting State Manager, Child and Family Services Mrs Una Hobday, Manager of Adoption Services

4 Community Statements

Friday 23 September 2005, Sydney

Individual

Ms Joanne Ellen

Australian Families for Children

Mrs Ricky Brisson, Executive Officer

Australian Society for Intercountry Aid for Children (NSW)

Dr Lucinda Burns, Committee Member & Thailand Program Information Officer

Mrs Raewyn Clark, Newsletter & Member

Mr Tim O'Reilly, Committee Member

Dr Evelyne Schilz-Middleton, President

Families with Children from China

Mrs Karleen Gribble, Policy Officer

Intercountry Adoptees Support Network

Ms Lynelle Beverage, Founder & Director

Ms Analee Matthews, Editor & NSW Representative

Mr Chris Warner, Member

NSW Committee on Adoption and Permanent Care Inc

Ms Angharad Candlin, Vice Chair

Ms Jane West, Chairperson

9 Community Statements

Monday 10 October 2005, Canberra

Attorney-General's Department, Family Law Branch

Mr Kym Duggan, Assistant Secretary

Mr Matthew Osborne, Director, International Family Law Section

Victorian Government, Office for Children, Department of Human Services

Ms Helen Brain, Manager, Out of Home Care Services, Placement & Support, Child Protection & Family Services

Mr David Clements, Manager Placement & Support, Child Protection and Family Services

Wednesday 12 October 2005, Canberra

New South Wales Government, Department of Community Services

Ms Sue Dawson, Deputy Director-General

Ms Mary Griffin, Director, Adoption & Permanent Care Services

Monday 17 October 2005, Adelaide

Individuals

Mrs Susan Priest

Mrs Danielle Potter

Mr Michael Potter

Association Representing Mothers Separated from their Children by Adoption (South Australia) Inc (ARMS)

Ms Maureen Craig, Deputy Chairperson

Ms Mary-Anne (Meg) Lewis, Chairperson

Ms Pamela Longley, Life Member

Mrs Deborah Whitelock, Administrative Assistant

South Australian Chinese Adoption Support

Mr Nigel Holden, Vice President

Mr Mark Stewart, President

South Australian Government, Department for Families & Communities

Ms Cynthia Beare, Manager, Adoption and Family Information Service

Ms Jeanette (Jeanie) Lucas, Senior Project Officer

Mr Rod Squires, Director, Adoption, Refugee and Volunteer Services

World Families Australia Inc

Mrs Sandra Petersen, Vice President

Ms Margaret Sanders, President

Ms Morgan Smith, Member, Management Committee

Mr Matthew Wright-Simon, Member

9 Community Statements

Tuesday 18 October 2005, Perth

Individuals

Ms Anita Fratel

Adoption Research & Counselling Service Inc.

Ms Jennifer Newbould, Manager

Adoption Support for Families and Children

Ms Sally Flintoff, Committee Member

Mr Michael Harwood, General Member

Adoptions International of Western Australia

Mrs Maureen Roberts, Chairperson

Mrs Trudy Rosenwald, Assistant Principal Officer

Western Australian Government, Department of Community Development

Ms Leah Bonson, Director, East Directorate, Community Development & Statewide Services

Mr Colin Keogh, Manager, Adoption Service

5 Community Statements

Thursday 3 November 2005, Canberra

Attorney-General's Department, Family Law Branch

Mr Kym Duggan, Assistant Secretary

Mr Matthew Osborne, Director, International Family Law Section

Mr Scott Wilson, Assistant Director, Senior Legal Officer, International Family Law Section

Private Briefing

Wednesday 25 May 2005, Canberra

Attorney-General's Department, Family Law Branch

Mr Kym Duggan, Assistant Secretary

Mr Matthew Osborne, Director, International Family Law Section Mr Paul Taylor, Principal Legal Officer, Administrative Law and Civil Procedure Branch

Telephone conference call

Wednesday 14 September 2005, between Canberra and Taiwan

Christian Salvation Centre, Taiwan

Ms Paula Voigtman, Executive Director

Site inspection

Monday 12 September 2005, Canberra

ACT Adoptions Unit, Office for Children, Youth and Family Support, ACT Government - Level 6, 11 Moore Street, Civic, Canberra ACT

Ms Marysia Caesar, Adoptions Social Worker

Ms Julie Logan, Senior Administration Officer

Ms Sue Mickleburgh, Manager

Ms Leena Pekki, Adoptions Social Worker

Ms Ann Ponsonby, Team Leader

Ms Amita Rangachari, Adoptions Social Worker

Mr Paul Wyles, Director

Meetings

Tuesday 26 April 2005, Hobart

Intercountry Adoption Central Authorities Meeting – organised by Tasmanian Department of Health and Human Services, held at Family Planning Tasmania, 2 Midwood Street, NewTown TAS

Committee was represented by Mr David Fawcett MP, Member.

Thursday 10 November 2005, Canberra

Intercountry Adoption Central Authorities Meeting – organised by Attorney-General's Department, held at Canberra Club, 45 West Row, Canberra City ACT

Committee was represented by Hon Bronwyn Bishop MP, Chairman.