

PARLIAMENT OF AUSTRALIA

Senate Select Committee on Electric Vehicles

Public hearings Adelaide, 10 August 2018 Canberra, 17 August 2018

The Senate Select Committee for Electric Vehicles will conduct public hearings in Adelaide on Friday 10 August 2018 and in Canberra on Friday 17 August 2018.

Committee Chair, Senator Tim Storer, said:

"This is a unique opportunity to think about how we prepare for a transformation we know is coming, and to hear from businesses, academics, and members of the public, who are already working to help Australia embrace the opportunities around electric vehicles."

"This is not just a motor vehicle revolution, but a change that will affect Australian society and the economy more broadly. With good policy, we will see opportunities for Australian mining, advanced manufacturing, and supply chain activities, as well as massive benefits for consumers, public health, our energy security, and the environment."

Committee Deputy Chair, Senator Kim Carr, said:

"Australia has enormous manufacturing capabilities and we don't want to see them squandered. The Australian Parliamentary committee process provides a great opportunity for Australian citizens to provide advice directly to Parliament."

The Committee will hold further hearings in Melbourne on 30 August and Brisbane on 27 September.

Submissions were due on Friday 27 July 2018, however, the Committee would welcome late submissions by email.

If you would like to make a submission, you may find it helpful to read the guide to making a submission available on the Senate website: Preparing a submission to an inquiry.

If you have questions, or need more time to write your submission, please contact the secretariat.

Secretariat contact: Senate Select Committee on Electric Vehicles Phone: 02 6277 3439 Email: electricvehicles.sen@aph.gov.au

Further details about the inquiry, including submissions received and the terms of reference, can be found at:

www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary Business/Committees/Senate/Electric Vehicles

DATE REFERRED

27 June 2018

NEXT HEARINGS

10 August 2018– Adelaide 17 August 2018– Canberra 31 August 2018–Melbourne 27 September 2018– Brisbane

REPORTING DATE

17 October 2018

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Senator Tim Storer (Chair) Senator Kim Carr (Deputy Chair) Senator David Bushby Senator Janet Rice Senator David Smith Senator Dean Smith

CONTACT THE COMMITTEE

Senate Select Committee on Electric Vehicles PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Phone: +61 2 6277 3539 electricvehicles.sen@aph. gov.au



Senate Select Committee on Electric Vehicles

Public Hearing Program Friday 10 August 2018 Level 1, Mitsubishi Administration Building 1 Tonsley Boulevard ST MARYS SA

Time	Witness
8.30am	<u>Vehicle retailers</u> Mitsubishi Motors Australia (submission 62)
	TBC
9.15am	Autonomous vehicle panel EasyMile Sage Automation (submission 84) Aurrigo
10.00am	Fusion Capital Partners (Precision Buses & Precision Components)
10.30am	Morning Tea Break
11.30am	Hydrogen Mobility Australia (submission 73)
12.00pm	Australian Imported Motor Vehicle Industry Association (submission 57)
12.30pm	Academic panel University of Adelaide Flinders University—Australian Industrial Transformation Institute (submission 5)
1.15pm	Lunch
2.00pm	LGA panel City of Adelaide City of Salisbury
2.45pm	Uniti (submission 2) via teleconference
3.15pm	GELCOservices (submission 85)
3.45pm	Adjournment



Senate Select Committee on Electric Vehicles

Public Hearing Program Friday 17 August 2018 Committee room 2S1, Parliament House CANBERRA ACT

Time	Witness
8.30am	ACT Government (submission 48)
9.00am	ANU
9.30am	EV Council
10.00am	Association of Mining and Exploration Companies (submission 20)
10.30am	Morning Tea Break
11.15am	NRMA (submission 78)
11.45am	Health panel
	Dr Liz Hanna (submission 3)
	Public Health Association of Australia (submission 33)
	Centre for Air Pollution, Energy and Health Research (submission 63) <i>via teleconference</i>
12.15pm	CSIRO
12.45pm	Australian Renewable Energy Agency Clean Energy Finance Corporation (submission 31)
1.30pm	Lunch
2.15pm	ClimateWorks (submission 46)
2.45pm	The Australia Institute (submission 1)
3.15pm	Department of Industry, Innovation and Science Department of the Environment and Energy Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities
4.00pm	Adjournment