

Issued: Tuesday, 15 March 2016

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON TRADE AND INVESTMENT GROWTH

Australia's Future in Research and Innovation

Chair: Mr Ken O'Dowd MP Deputy Chair: Mr Patrick Conroy MP

—Third Canberra Hearing— Australia's Future in Research and Innovation

The Parliamentary Trade and Investment Growth Committee will conclude it public hearings in Canberra on Thursday, 17 March 2016 as part of the *Inquiry into Australia's Future in Research and Innovation*. The Committee is investigating how the research and innovation sector can better assist in overcoming Australia's geographic, economic, and labour challenges, with a focus on commercialisation including, how technology imports and exports could be further facilitated.

The hearing will focus on university education and medical research, and intellectual property protection with the appearance of university peak bodies: Universities Australia, Group of Eight Australia, and Rural Universities Network, followed by the National Health and Medical Research Council, and IP Australia.

The Chair of the Committee, Mr Ken O'Dowd MP said, "There should be a seamless progression from research-generated innovation through to intellectual property protection and commercialisation benefiting the wider Australian community."

"Universities have an important role in creating people skilled in science, technology, engineering and mathematics who are needed to create and develop the innovative ideas necessary to drive a modern economy."

"Australia excels in medical research and the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) is a key funding agency. Much of the innovation generated through those NHMRC grants may need intellectual property protection so that the organisations and companies undertaking the research can retain the full benefits generated through their efforts," Mr O'Dowd said.

Date: Thursday 17 March 2016, 9.00 am – 10.30 am. Location: Committee Room 1R6, Parliament House, Canberra.

More information is available at: www.aph.gov.au/ResearchandInnovation

For media comment: Please contact the Office of the Committee Chair, Mr Ken O'Dowd MP on (02) 6277 4380

For background information: Please contact the committee secretariat: Phone: (02) 6277 2233 Email: <u>isctig@aph.gov.au</u> Website <u>www.aph.gov.au/ResearchandInnovation</u>