Senate Economics Legislation Committee

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE Inquiry into the National Energy Transition Authority Bill 2022

Department/Agency: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Outcome/Program Group: Net Zero Economy Taskforce **Topic:** Consultation – stakeholders and meeting dates

Senator: Penny Allman-Payne

Type of question: Hansard page 21, 28 February 2023

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 10 March 2023

Number of pages: 6

Question:

Senator ALLMAN-PAYNE: I'll go back to the straighter questions rather than the tangent, but thank you for answering them. I think this is probably a question on notice, because you've told us you've done some broad consulting and you've had up to 80 stakeholders. I'm keen to know who has been part of the consultation process, which companies and unions. Is it possible for you to provide a list of all bodies that have been consulted, and the meeting dates that they happened? I'm happy for you to take that on notice.

Mr Chisholm: We can assist you with that. We can talk in broad terms about some of the organisations we've spoken to, but given the length I think it's probably best that we come back on notice.

Answer:

The list below identifies the key stakeholders engaged from 5 September 2022 to 7 March 2023. The Net Zero Economy Taskforce continues to consult as part of its work.

Net Zero Economy Taskforce Key Stakeholder List:

- ACT Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate
- Australian Council of Trade Unions
- AGL Liddell
- AGL Loy Yang A
- Alinta Energy Loy Yang B
- Alpha HPA
- AusNet
- Australian Conservation Foundation
- Australian Council of Social Services
- Australian Council of Superannuation Investors
- Australian Local Government Association
- Australian Manufacturing Workers Union
- Australian Renewables Academy
- Australian Services Union
- Australian Workers Union
- Banana Shire Council
- Batchfire Resources
- Prof. Dr. Bernhard Lorentz
- Beyond Zero Emissions
- BHP
- Bluescope
- Business Council of Australia
- Business Hunter
- Business Illawarra
- Carbon Market Institute
- Centennial Coal
- Central Highland Development Corporation and Central Highlands Regional Council
- Central Queensland Regional Organisation of Councils
- Centre for Policy Development
- Ports Corporation Gladstone
- Centre for Policy Development
- Charles Darwin University

- ClimateWorks
- Collieries' Staff and Officials Association
- Committee for Gippsland
- Committee for the Hunter
- Communication, Electrical and Plumbing Union
- CRC for Transformation in Mining Economies
- Danish Embassy
- Department of Energy and Public Works (Queensland)
- Department of Regional NSW
- Edith Cowan University
- Electrical Trades Union
- Energy Policy WA
- EnergyAustralia Yallourn
- Exxon Mobil / Esso
- Federation University Gippsland
- Fortescue Future Industries
- GFG Alliance / Liberty Steelworks
- Gippsland Climate Change Network (GCCN)
- Gippsland Trades and Labour Council
- Gladstone Area Promotion Development Limited
- Gladstone Council
- Gladstone Engineering Alliance
- Gladstone Industry Leadership Group
- Gladstone Port Corporation
- Glencore
- Global Maintenance Upper Spencer Gulf
- Grattan Institute
- Great Whitsunday Alliance
- Greater Cities Commission
- GreenSpot
- Hallett Concrete
- Hunter Jobs Alliance
- Hunter Joint Organisation of Councils
- HunterNet

- Hydrogen Energy Supply Chain (HESC) Project
- i3net
- Illawarra Aboriginal Corporation
- Illawarra Shoalhaven Joint Organisation of Councils
- Indigenous Business Builders BHP
- Isaac Regional Council
- James Cook University Allan Dale
- Just Transition Working Group Collie
- Kiama Council
- Latrobe City Council
- Latrobe Valley Authority (LVA)
- Lithgow City Council
- Marinus Link
- Masdar Tribe Australia
- Max Services
- Mingaan Wiradjuri Aboriginal Corporation
- Mining and Energy Union
- Muswellbrook Shire Council
- National Farmers Federation
- NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet
- NSW Ports
- NT Department of Chief Minister and Cabinet
- NT Department of Industry, Tourism and Trade
- OSMI Australia
- Port Augusta Council
- Port of Bunbury
- Premier Coal
- Prof Murray Shearer, Professor of Hydrogen and Alternative Energy
- QLD State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning
- RDA Central and Western QLD
- RDA Far North
- RDA Hunter
- RDA Rockhampton
- RDA South West WA

- Regional Development Victoria (RDV)
- Renewables, Climate and Future Industries Tasmania
- Resources Centre of Excellence
- SA Department of Energy & Mining
- SA Department of Premier and Cabinet
- SA Government Office of Hydrogen Power
- Shellharbour Council
- Shire of Collie
- Shoalhaven City Council
- Singleton Council
- Skillset
- Social Enterprise Council NSW
- South Regional TAFE WA
- South West Development Commission WA
- South32
- Star of the South
- Sunrise Project
- Synergy
- TAFE Gippsland
- TAFE SA
- TAS Department of Premier and Cabinet
- Teneo
- Thales Lithgow Arms
- The Next Economy
- Tomorrow Movement
- Trade and Investment Queensland
- University Hub, Spencer Gulf
- University of Newcastle Regional Futures Institute
- University of South Australia
- University of Wollongong
- Vast Solar
- VIC Department of Premier and Cabinet
- WA Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation
- WA Department of Premier and Cabinet

- Wellington Shire Council
- Whyalla Business and Tourism
- Whyalla Council
- Wollongong City Council
- Wonnarua Nation Aboriginal Corporation