JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON AUSTRALIA'S IMMIGRATION DETENTION NETWORK

Question: It would also be helpful if we had a list of the MOUs that you do currently

have between the Commonwealth and various state government and

Territory departments.

Answer: The table below summarises Memoranda of Understanding that DIAC has in

place with state and territory governments or federal departments as of 13

March 2012.

State or Territory Government	Memorandum of Understanding (MOU)
Department of Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government (Regional Australia)	MOU commenced November 2011 for the provision of health services for people in immigration detention on Christmas Island. The services are provided by the Indian Oceans Territories Health Service (IOTHS), which is a business unit of Regional Australia.
New South Wales (NSW)	MOU with the NSW Department of Education and Communities (DEC) relating to the enrolment of children in the community detention program in NSW government schools commenced in November 2011.
Northern Territory (NT)	MOUs are in place to cover education arrangements for minors aged 5-17 years old.
	MOU with Northern Territory Police and Australian Federal Police commenced in March 2012.
Queensland (QLD)	MOU for the provision of health services to people in immigration detention commenced in May 2008.
South Australia (SA)	MOU for the provision of certain health services commenced in 2005.
	MOU with the SA Department of Human Services (DHS) relating to Child Protection Notifications and Child Welfare Issues pertaining to children in immigration detention in SA commenced in 2001.
Tasmania (TAS)	MOU with Tasmanian Police and Australian Federal Police commenced in February 2012.
Victoria (VIC)	MOU for the provision of certain health services to people in immigration detention commenced in May 2008.
	MOU with the Victoria Police Service for the provision of policing services at the Maribyrnong Immigration Department (MIDC) commenced on 31 May 2009.