Issued 5 May 2016

Chair – Hon Dr Sharman Stone MP Deputy – Hon Warren Snowdon MP

## Parliamentary committee calls on ACMA to act on alcohol advertising

The Standing Committee on Indigenous Affairs urges the Australian Communications and Media Authority not to allow increased alcohol advertising on television during c time zones.

In June 2015, the Committee completed its inquiry into the harmful use of alcohol in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. After hearing directly from communities and experts, the Committee recommended that the Commercial Television Industry Code of Practice be amended to ensure that alcohol is not able to be advertised before 8.30pm and that no exemptions are given for alcohol promotion during sport broadcasting.

In its report, the Committee expressed its specific concern about the recently approved new Commercial Television Industry Code of Practice which has seen the amendments to time zone arrangements, changes which will impact on permissible alcohol advertising on television. The Committee echoes the concerns expressed by both the Minister for Communications, Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield, and the Minister for Indigenous Affairs, Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion, about these arrangements.

Chair of the Committee, the Hon Dr Sharman Stone, commented, 'Watching a sporting program should not involve a child being bombarded with advertisements for alcohol. The welfare and future of children is certainly more important than the profits of sporting teams and the alcohol industry, and there is much to be gained by stopping alcohol advertising on television before 8.30pm'.

The Committee urges the ACMA to give serious consideration to the Committee's recommendation, and will be following up with the ACMA in the new Parliament following the upcoming election.

Further information on the Committee's inquiry, including a full copy of the report is available on the Committee website at <a href="https://www.aph.gov.au/indigenousaffairs">www.aph.gov.au/indigenousaffairs</a>.

**For media comment**, please contact the Committee Chair the Hon Dr Sharman Stone MP on (03) 5821 5371 (Electorate Office) or (02) 6277 4477 (Parliament House).

**For background information** please contact the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 4559 or indigenousaffairs.reps@aph.gov.au

Telephone: 02 6277 4559 Facsimile: 02 6277 4427

E-mail: indigenousaffairs.reps@aph.gov.au Website: www.aph.gov.au/indigenousaffairs