Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories

Inquiry into Australia's Antarctic Territory

Issue date: 29 June 2017

Committee launches inquiry into Australia's Antarctic Territory

A parliamentary committee today launched an inquiry examining the infrastructure assets and capability in Australia's Antarctic Territory.

The <u>Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories'</u> inquiry considers the adequacy of Australia's infrastructure assets and capability in Antarctica with regard to:

- maintaining national interests;
- serving the scientific program into the future;
- international engagement, including collaboration and resource sharing with other countries;
- fostering economic opportunities consistent with the Antarctic Treaty System obligations;
 and
- environmental considerations.

Chair of the Committee, Mr Ben Morton MP, said "The Committee's inquiry is timely, with 2017 marking the 60th anniversary of Australia's Davis Research Station in Antarctica".

Mr Morton noted that "The last time the Committee considered Australia's role in Antarctica was in 2005. Significant advancement in scientific capability and technology since the Committee's previous inquiry provides an opportunity for renewed focus on Australia's Antarctic assets and capabilities into the future".

The Committee is seeking submissions from individuals, organisations and government stakeholders addressing one or more of the inquiry's terms of reference, until 11 August 2017.

Information about <u>how to make a submission to an inquiry</u> can be obtained from the Parliament of Australia webpage.

Media enquiries:

Mr Ben Morton MP (Tangney, WA), Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories (08) 9354 9633

For background information:

Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories (02) 6277 4355,



jscncet@aph.gov.au

Interested members of the public may wish to track the committee via the <u>website</u>. Click on the blue 'Track Committee' button in the bottom right hand corner and use the forms to login to My Parliament or to register for a My Parliament account.

Media release issue date: 29 June 2016