

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON AUSTRALIA'S FAMILY LAW SYSTEM

MEDIA RELEASE

The Joint Select Committee on Australia's Family Law System will hold its first public hearing in Canberra on Friday 14 February 2020. The committee will be hearing from various organisations, as set out in the attached public hearing program.

Video and audio of the hearing will be broadcast live on the <u>Parliament House website</u>, with a link to the hearing available on the day. Information about attending public hearings is available on the Parliament House website.

A Hansard transcript of the hearing will be published on the <u>committee's website</u> shortly after the hearing.

The committee will also be holding a number of other hearings. Further information about the committee's upcoming public hearings is available in its 23 January 2020 <u>media release</u>. Please note that the committee has cancelled and is currently rescheduling the Darwin, Alice Springs and Adelaide hearings.

The committee also has published responses to frequently asked questions about hearings in its FAQs—hearings document, available on the committee's website.

The committee has safeguards in place to protect witnesses, particularly those who have experienced family violence or trauma to ensure no further harm is caused to vulnerable people.

Media enquiries:

Cristy Elliott - cristy.elliott@aph.gov.au or (03) 9848 9900

For background information:

Secretariat to the Joint Select Committee into Australia's Family Law System – familylaw.sen@aph.gov.au or 02 6277 3439.

Media release issue date: 7 February 2020

Updated on 13 February 2020 with revised program



JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON AUSTRALIA'S FAMILY LAW SYSTEM

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 14 February 2020

Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Attorney-General's Department (Submission 581)
	Mr Iain Anderson, Deputy Secretary, Legal Services and Families Group
	Mr Cameron Gifford, First Assistant Secretary, Families and Legal System Division
	Ms Dianne Orr, Assistant Secretary, Family Law Branch
	Ms Alexandra Mathews, Assistant Secretary, Family Safety Branch
9.30 am	Department of Social Services (Submission 95)
	Ms Liz Hefren-Webb, Deputy Secretary, Families and Communities
	Mr Shane Bennett, Acting Deputy Secretary, Social Security
	Ms Mary McLarty, Acting Group Manager, Participation Payments and Families
	Mr Bruce Young, Acting General Manager, Child Support, Indigenous and Tailored Services Division, Services Australia
	Ms Cathy Toze, Acting National Manager, Child Support Program Branch, Services Australia
10.30 am	Australian Human Rights Commission (via teleconference) (Submission 91)
	Ms Megan Mitchell, National Children's Commissioner
11.30 am	Adjournment