

PARLIAMENT OF AUSTRALIA

MEDIA RELEASE Senate Community Affairs Legislation Committee

Call for submissions

Inquiry into the Social Security (Administration) Amendment (Repeal of Cashless Debit Card and Other Measures) Bill 2022

Issue date: 8 August 2022

The Senate Community Affairs Legislation Committee is conducting an <u>inquiry</u> into the provisions of the Social Security (Administration) Amendment (Repeal of Cashless Debit Card and Other Measures) Bill 2022.

The bill seeks to amend the *Social Security (Administration) Act 1999* to abolish the cashless debit card (CDC) program. The CDC is currently in operation across parts of South Australia, Western Australia, Queensland and the Northern Territory.

Call for submissions

The committee is seeking submissions from a wide range of people and organisations, including individuals and communities with first-hand experience of the cashless debit card.

Submissions are sought by 10 August 2022.

Submissions can be lodged <u>online</u> or emailed to the secretariat at <u>community.affairs.sen@aph.gov.au</u>.

Further information for submitters

Submissions become committee documents and are made public only after a decision by the committee. Publication of submissions includes loading them onto the internet and making them available to other interested parties, including the media. You may request that your submission remains confidential or that your name is not published with your submission.

If you would like to make a submission you may find it helpful to read the guide to making a submission available on the Senate website: Preparing a submission to an inquiry.

If you require special arrangements to enable you to make a submission to the inquiry, or if you have questions, or need more time to write your submission, please contact the Community Affairs secretariat.

DATE REFERRED
4 August 2022

SUBMISSIONS CLOSE

10 August 2022

REPORTING DATE

31 August 2022

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Senator Marielle Smith (Chair) Senator Janet Rice (Deputy Chair) Senator Slade Brockman Senator Jacinta Nampijinpa Price Senator Louise Pratt Senator Anne Urquhart

COMMITTEE WEBSITE www.aph.gov.au/senate ca

CONTACT THE COMMITTEE

Senate Standing Committees on Community Affairs PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Phone: +61 2 6277 3515 community.affairs.sen@aph. gov.au

The text of the bill and accompanying explanatory documents can be accessed <u>here</u>. Information about the inquiry is available on the committee's <u>website</u>.