

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Communications Legislation Amendment (Combatting Misinformation and Disinformation) Bill 2024 [Provisions]

PUBLIC HEARING Monday 11 November 2024

Committee Room 2S3 Australian Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Human Rights Law Centre (Submission 60) Mr David Mejia-Canales, Senior Lawyer
	Victorian Bar (Submission 62) Mr James McComish, Barrister, Member of the Victorian Bar's Communications Legislation Amendment Working Group
	Professor Anne Twomey AO, private capacity, via videoconference (no submission)
9.45 am	Australian Jewish Association, via videoconference (Submission 83) Mr Robert Gregory, Chief Executive Officer Dr David Adler, President
10.15 am	Morning Break
10.25 am	National Emergency Management Agency (no submission) Mr Joel Buffone, Deputy Coordinator-General
11.10 am	CitizenGO (Submission 47) Mr Brian Marlow, Australian Campaigner
11.40 am	Australian Muslim Advocacy Network, via videoconference (Submission 29) Ms Rita Jabri Markwell, Legal Advisor
12.10 pm	Lunch Break
12.55 pm	Australian Media Literacy Alliance, via videoconference (Submission 90) Ms Anita Planchon, Chair Mrs Christine Evely, Deputy Chair Dr Michael Dezuanni, Committee Member
1.25 pm	Local and Independent News Association (no submission) Ms Claire Stuchbery, Executive Director
2.10 pm	Afternoon Break

2.20 pm	Department of Home Affairs (Submission 87) Ms Jeni Whalan, First Assistant Secretary – Office of Community Cohesion, via videoconference Mr David Chick, Assistant Secretary – Counter Foreign Interference Policy and Coordination Mr Alexander Goldie, Assistant Secretary – Countering Violent Extremism
3.05 pm	 Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts (Submission 74) Mr James Chisholm, Deputy Secretary Ms Sarah Vandenbroek, First Assistant Secretary – Digital Platforms, Safety and Classification Division Mr Andrew Hyles, Assistant Secretary – Digital Platforms, International and Policy Branch Mr Sam Kursar, Director – Digital Platforms, International and Policy Branch Australian Communications and Media Authority (Submission 3) Ms Creina Chapman, Deputy Chair Ms Autumn Field, General Manager, Content Ms Rochelle Zurnamer, Executive Manager, Misinformation and Disinformation Ms Kelly Mudford, Manager, Disinformation and Platforms
5.05 pm	Adjournment