

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Family Law Amendment Bill 2024

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 18 October 2024

Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Panel: Fitzroy Legal Service (Submission 14) Mr Hamish McLachlan, Chief Executive Officer Ms Amity Mara, Manager of Policy, Advocacy and Projects National Legal Aid (via videoconference) (Submission 20) Ms Matherine McKerner, Executive Director
	Ms Katherine McKernan, Executive Director
	Women's Legal Services Australia (WLSA) (via videoconference) (Submission 27
	Mrs Meaghan Bradshaw, Chair, Family Law and Domestic and Family Violence Committee
	Caxton Legal Centre (via videoconference) Ms Colette Bots, Practice Director - Family, Domestic Violence and Elder Law Practice Ms Daniella Pratt, Managing Senior Lawyer
	First Nations Advocates Against Family Violence (FNAAFV) Mrs Kerry Staines, Chief Executive Officer
10.00 am	Panel: National Women's Safety Alliance (Submission 2) Katherine Berney, Executive Director Angela Lynch, Chair, Sexual Violence Working Group (via videoconference)
	Lucy's Project Ltd (via videoconference) (Submission 8) Ms Monique Dam, Chief Executive Officer
	Council of Single Mothers and their Children (via videoconference) Ms Andi Sebastian, Communication and Policy Coordinator
11.00 am	Morning tea
11.15 am	Panel: Professor Belinda Fehlberg (via videoconference) (Submission 22)
	Associate Professor Miranda Kaye (via videoconference) (Submission 23)
12.15 pm	Lunch

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Family Law Amendment Bill 2024

1.00 pm	Panel: Relationships Australia (Submission 5) Mr Nick Tebbey, National Executive Officer Dr Susan Cochrane, National Policy Manager Family & Relationship Services Australia (FRSA) (Submission 13) Dr Robyn Clough, Manager, Policy and Research
1.45 pm	Australian Institute of Family Studies (via videoconference) (Submission 21) Dr Rachel Carson, Executive Manager Ms Kira Duggan, Research Director - Systems and Services
2.15 pm	Afternoon tea
2.30 pm	Law Council of Australia (Submission 25) Ms Di Simpson, Chair, Family Law Section Ms Natalie Cooper, Senior Policy Lawyer
3.30 pm	Attorney-General's Department (Submission 19) Mr Chris Collett, First Assistant Secretary, Children and Families Division Ms Rebecca Mills, A/g Assistant Secretary, Family Law Branch
4.30 pm	Adjournment