

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Education Services for Overseas Students Amendment (Quality and Integrity) Bill 2024 [Provisions]

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 6 September 2024

Corinthian Room, Sydney Masonic Centre 66 Goulburn Street, Sydney

Time	Witness
1.00 pm	Panel 1: Deakin University (via teleconference) Professor Iain Martin, Vice-Chancellor Mr David Reeves, Senior Adviser to the Vice-Chancellor Regional Universities Network (Submission 24) Mr Alec Webb, Chief Executive Officer University of Wollongong Senior Professor Sue Bennett, Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic and Student Life)
1.45 pm	Panel 2: Australian Catholic University Mr Christopher Riley, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Global and Education Pathways) Australian Technology Network of Universities (Submission 14) Dr Ant Bagshaw, Executive Director Charles Sturt University (via teleconference) Professor Renée Leon PSM, Vice-Chancellor and President University of Technology Sydney Professor Andrew Parfitt, Vice-Chancellor and President Western Sydney University Distinguished Professor George Williams AO, Vice-Chancellor and President

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE
Education Services for Overseas Students Amendment (Quality and Integrity) Bill 2024 [Provisions]

2.45 pm	Panel 3: Holmes Insitute (Submission 37) Mr Stephen Nagle, Chief Executive Officer Independent Higher Education Australia (Submission 13) Hon Dr Peter Hendy, Chief Executive Officer Dr James Hart, Policy Manager Independent Tertiary Education Council Australia (Submission 60) Mr Felix Pirie, Deputy Chief Executive, Policy and Research Photography Studies College Mr Jim Davidson, Director
3.30 pm	Break
3.45 pm	Panel 4: Department of Education (Submission 51) Mr Ben Rimmer, Deputy Secretary, Higher Education, Research and International Group Ms Karen Sandercock, First Assistant Secretary, International Division Ms Vanessa Lapthorne, Assistant Secretary, Engagement Branch (via teleconference) Ms Alexandra Procailo, Assistant Secretary, International Quality Branch Department of Employment and Workplace Relations (Submission 47) Ms Anna Faithfull, Deputy Secretary, Skills and Training Ms Laura Angus, First Assistant Secretary, International, Defence and Assessment (via teleconference) Ms Katerina Lawler, Assistant Secretary, VET Quality and Regulation (via teleconference) Mr Daniel Langer, Assistant Secretary, International Policy and Defence (via teleconference)
4.30 pm	Panel 5: Department of Home Affairs (via teleconference) (Submission 3) Ms Tara Cavanagh, Group Manager, Immigration Policy Mr Damien Kilner, First Assistant Secretary, Immigration Programs Department of the Treasury Ms Sam Reinhardt, Deputy Secretary, Fiscal Group Dr Adam Cagliarini, First Assistant Secretary, Macroeconomic Conditions and Population Division Mr Brendan McKenna, A/g First Assistant Secretary, Labour Market, Environment, Infrastructure and Industry Division (via teleconferece) Mr Nicholas Downie, Assistant Secretary, Housing Strategy Branch (via teleconference) Mr Nicholas Latimer, Assistant Secretary, Centre for Population
5.15 pm	Adjournment