

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Nature Positive (Environment Protection Australia) Bill 2024 [Provisions] and related bills

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 26 July 2024

2S3, Australian Parliament House, CANBERRA

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Biodiversity Council (Submission 49) Professor Brendan Wintle, Lead Councillor Dr Peter Burnett, Councillor
	Climate Council of Australia (Submission 1) Dr Jennifer Rayner, Head of Policy
	Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists (Submission 55) Ms Debbie Medaris, Acting Director Professor Martine Maron, Member
9.40 am	Invasive Species Council (Submission 107) Associate Professor Richard Swain, Indigenous Ambassador
	Dr Jack Pascoe, Private Capacity
	Seed Indigenous Youth Climate Network Ms Emma-Lee Luther
10.25 am	Clean Energy Council (Submission 34) Dr Nicholas Aberle, Director, Energy Generation and Storage Ms Bronya Lipski, Senior Policy Officer(Planning and Environment)
	Smart Energy Council (Submission 111) Mr Wayne Smith, External Affairs Manager Mr Connor Price, Policy Officer
10.55 am	Break

11.05 am	 Australian Marine Conservation Society (Submission 31) Ms Tooni Mahto, Campaigns Director BirdLife Australia (Submission 57) Ms Kate Millar, Chief Executive Officer The Wilderness Society (Submission 70) Ms Amelia Young, National Campaigns Director WWF-Australia (Submission 8) Mr Dermot O'Gorman, Chief Executive Officer Australian Conservation Foundation (Submission 27) Ms Kelly O'Shanassy, Chief Executive Officer Humane Society International Australia (Submission 32) Ms Erica Martin, Chief Executive Officer
12.20 pm	Ms Erica Martin, Chief Executive Officer Environmental Justice Australia (Submission 51) Ms Danya Jacobs, Special Counsel, Ecosystems Lead Environmental Defenders Office (Submission 25) Ms Rachel Walmsley, Head of Policy and Law Reform Ms Frances Medlock, Solicitor, Commonwealth & Government Liaison Law Council of Australia (Submission 105) Mr Greg McIntyre SC, President Ms Robyn Glindemann, Chair, Australian Environment and Planning Law Group Ms Ashna Taneja, Principal Policy Lawyer National Environmental Law Association Dr Justine Bell-James, Director Dr Phillipa McCormack, Co-Convenor, Publications, Submissions & Advocacy Portfolio
1.05 pm	Lunch Break

1.35 pm	 Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Chamber of Commerce and Industry WA (Submission 30) Mr Peter Grist, Director, Economics, Industry and Sustainability, ACCI Mr Aaron Morey, Chief Economist, Director of Policy, Influence and Strategy, Chamber of Commerce and Industry WA Australian Industry Group (Submission 103) Mr Tennant Reed, Director, Climate Change and Energy Ms Molly Knox, Advisor, Industry Policy Business Council of Australia (Submission 24) Mr Bran Black, Chief Executive Mr Andrew Fattal, Director Infrastructure and Planning
	 Urban Development Institute Of Australia (Submission 21) Mr Andrew Mihno, Head of Policy and Government Relations Mr Nathan Garvey, Subject Matter Expert Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia Ms Rebecca Tomkinson, Chief Executive Officer Ms Adrienne LaBombard, Director, Policy and Advocacy
2.20 pm	 Australian Forest Products Association Mr Richard Hyett, Deputy Chief Executive Officer - Director of Policy Mr Gordon Neil, Policy Manager National Farmers' Federation (Submission 26) Mr Tony Mahar, Chief Executive Officer Minerals Council of Australia (Submission 19) Ms Tania Constable, Chief Executive Officer Mr Chris McCombe, General Manager, Sustainability Mr Steven Brown, Senior Manager, Environmental Policy Australian Energy Producers (Submission 106) Ms Samantha McCulloch, Chief Executive Officer Mr Keld Knudsen, Queensland Director Association of Mining and Exploration Companies Mr Warren Pearce, Chief Executive Officer Mr Neil van Drunen, Director, Commonwealth
3.20 pm	Break
3.30 pm	Australian Land Conservation Alliance (Submission 104)Dr Jody Gunn, Chief Executive OfficerMr Michael Cornish, Policy LeadAustralian Climate and Biodiversity Foundation (Submission 47)Dr Ken Henry, ChairMr Lyndon Schneiders, Executive Director
4.00 pm	Professor Graeme Samuel AC, Private Capacity

4.30 pm	Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water (Submissio
	n 13
	Mr Dean Knudson, Deputy Secretary
	Ms Lyn O'Connell, Deputy Secretary
	Mr James Tregurtha, Division Head, Nature Positive Law Reform and Standards
	Mrs Mahani Taylor, Branch Head, Nature Positive Law Reform and Standards
	Ms Anna-Liisa Lahtinen, Acting Branch Head, Policy and Legislation Branch, Nature
	Positive Taskforce
	Mr Bruce Edwards, Division Head, Nature Positive Regulation Division
	Mr Graeme Grosse, Acting Division Head, Environmental Permitting and
	Compliance Division
	Ms Lisa Nitschke, Acting Division Head, Environment Information Australia
	Mr Greg Manning, Division Head, Nature Positive Integration Division
	Australian Bureau of Statistics
	Mrs Jacqui Vitas, General Manager, The Economy and Environment Division
5.30 pm	Adjournment