

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Criminal Code Amendment (Deepfake Sexual Material) Bill 2024 [Provisions]

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 23 July 2024

Committee Room 2S3, Parliament House Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Panel: Ms Noelle Martin (via videoconference)
	Rape and Sexual Assault Research and Advocacy (RASARA) (via videoconference) Dr Rachel Burgin, Chief Executive Officer
	National Association of Services Against Sexual Violence (via videoconference) Ms Nicole Lambert, Chief Executive Officer
	Queensland Sexual Assault Network (QSAN) (via videoconference) Ms Angela Lynch, Executive Officer
10.30 am	Morning tea
11.15 am	Panel: Mr Michael Bradley (via videoconference)
	Sydney Criminal Lawyers (via videoconference) Mr Vinny Vijay, Senior Associate
12.00 pm	Panel: Professor Asher Flynn (via videoconference)
	Professor Jonathon Clough (via teleconference)
12.45 pm	Lunch
1.45 pm	Panel: Mr Daniel Principe (via videoconference)
	Mr Richie Hardcore (via videoconference) (Submission 23)
	Independent Schools Australia (Submission 14) Mr Graham Catt, Chief Executive Officer Ms Tracey Taylor, Director, Education Policy
	Universities Australia (via videoconference) (Submission 12) Mr Luke Sheehy, Chief Executive Officer

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Criminal Code Amendment (Deepfake Sexual Material) Bill 2024 [Provisions]

4.30 pm	Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions (CDPP) (Submission 18) Ms Eliza Amparo, Acting Deputy Director, Human Exploitation and Border Protection Ms Christina Choi, Acting Deputy Director, Legal Capability and Performance Adjournment
	Australian Federal Police (AFP) (Submission 11) Deputy Commissioner Ian McCartney, Deputy Commissioner Crime Assistant Commissioner Kirsty Schofield, Assistant Commissioner Crime
3.15 pm	Panel: Attorney-General's Department (Submission 17) Mr Parker Reeve, Assistant Secretary, High Tech Crime Branch Mr Nathan Whiteman, Director, Cybercrime, Child Abuse Policy and Engagement
2.30 pm	Office of the eSafety Commissioner (via videoconference) Ms Julie Inman Grant, eSafety Commissioner Ms Alanna Harper, Manager, Strategic Policy & Tech Futures