

SELECT COMMITTEE ON ADOPTING ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE

Select Committee on Adopting Artificial Intelligence (AI)

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 16 July 2024

Main Committee Room 1R0 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Professor Anton van den Hengel, Director, Centre for Augmented Reasoning (CAR) – Australian Institute for Machine Learning (AIML) University of Adelaide & Chair of the Kingston AI Group (Submission 122)
9.45 am	The Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance (Submission 137) Mr Paul Davies, Campaigns Director Dr Rod Davies, Musicians member Mr Cooper Mortlock, Equity member Mr Matt Byrne, Political Lead Ms Tawar Razaghi, Media member
10.30 am	Digital Rights Watch (Submission 156) Ms Lizzie O'Shea, Founder and Chair
11.15 am	Break (15 mins)
11.30 am	Adobe (Submission 24) Mr John Mackenney, Director, Public Sector Strategy APAC
12.15 pm	Human Rights Watch (Submission 236) Ms Hye Jung Han, Children's Rights and Technology Researcher and Advocate
	Human Rights Law Centre (Submission 149) Mr David Mejia-Canales, Senior lawyer Ms Kimberly La, Secondee Lawyer
1.00 pm	Lunch Break (45 mins)
1.45 pm	Associate Professor Alysia Blackham, Associate Professor, Melbourne Law School, University of Melbourne (Submission 75)
	Professor Kevin Sanson, Professor of Media Studies and Head of the School of Communication, Queensland University of Technology
	ARC Centre of Excellence on Automated Decision-Making and Society (Submissi on 146) Professor Julian Thomas, Director
2.45 pm	Break (15 mins)

3.00 pm	Law Council of Australia (Submission 152) Dr Fabian Horton, Chair, Futures Committee Mr Angus Lang SC, ast National Chair, Intellectual Property Committee Professor Peter Leonard, Member, Media and Communications Committee, Business Law Section Ms Olga Ganopolsky, Chair, Privacy Law Committee of the Business Law Section Mr John Farrell, Executive Policy Lawyer
3.45 pm	Ms Claire Pullen, Group CEO, AWG (Submission 177)
	The Australian Association Of Voice Actors (Submission 38) Mr Simon Kennedy, President Ms Teresa Lim, Vice President Ms Lesley Chambers, Industry Liaison
4.45 pm	Adjournment