

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL MEDIA AND AUSTRALIAN SOCIETY

Joint Select Committee on Social Media and Australian Society

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 28 June 2024

Committee Room 1R4 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Meta (via videoconference) (Submission 46) Ms Antigone Davis, Vice President & Global Head of Safety Ms Mia Garlick, Regional Director of Policy, Australia, Japan, Korea, New Zealand & Pacific Islands
10.30 am	Break
10.45 am	Panel 1: Snap Inc. (via videoconference) (Submission 40) Mr Henry Turnbull, Head of Public Policy, APAC TikTok Australia (via videoconference) Ms Ella Woods-Joyce, Director of Public Policy
11.45 am	Google (via videoconference) (Submission 67) Ms Lucinda Longcroft, Director, Government Affairs & Public Policy, Australia and New Zealand Ms Rachel Lord, Senior Manager, Government Relations & Public Policy, YouTube
12.45 pm	Lunch
1.30 pm	Panel 2: Public Interest Journalism Initiative Ms Anna Draffin, Chief Executive Officer Tattarang (Submission 58) Mr Bruce Meagher, Head of Public Affairs Mr Simon Clarke, Senior Litigation Counsel Local and Independent News Association (via videoconference) (Submission 44) Ms Claire Stuchbery, Executive Director Private Media Pty Ltd (via videoconference) (Submission 56) Mr Will Hayward, Chief Executive Officer

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL MEDIA AND AUSTRALIAN SOCIETY Joint Select Committee on Social Media and Australian Society

2.30 pm	Panel 3: Professor Lyria Bennett Moses, Faculty of Law and Justice, UNSW Sydney (via videoconference)
	Dr Andrea Carson, Professor of Political Communication, La Trobe University (via videoconference)
	Mr Terry Flew, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, The University of Sydney (via videoconference)
	Dr Rob Nicholls, Senior Research Associate, The University of Sydney (via videoconference)
4.00 pm	Adjournment