

RURAL AND REGIONAL AFFAIRS AND TRANSPORT REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Shutdown of the 3G mobile network

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 24 July 2024

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Telstra (Submission 24) Mr John Hewitt, Manager, Government Relations Ms Justine Rowe, Executive, Sustainability Policy Engagement Mr Gerard Tracey, Principal Engineer, Network Connectivity Service, Global Networks and Technology
	Optus (Submission 21) Mr Andrew Sheridan, Vice President, Government and Regulatory Affairs Mr Harvey Wright, Head, New Products Mr Michael Reynolds, Head, Network Products, Programs and Services
	TPG Telecom (Submission 7) Mr Ross Mitchell, Head, Government Relations Mr Gary Chant, Head, Wireless Engineering Mr Paul Tierney, General Manager, Customer Lifecycle Management and Felix
10.15 am	Royal Flying Doctor Service of Australia (Submission 12) Mr Ryan Klose, Executive General Manager Ms Lauren Gale, Director, Policy, Advocacy and Strategy
10.45 am	Morning tea
11.00 am	Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (Submission 6) Dr Jodie Trembath, Director, Skills, Employment and Small Business Ms Samantha McKenna, Policy Adviser
11.30 am	Australian Communications and Media Authority (Submission 2) Mr Michael Brealey, General Manager, Communications Infrastructure Division Ms Cathy Rainsford, General Manager, Consumer Division Mr Paul Nicholas, Manager, National Interests Section Mr Allan Major, Executive Manager, Licensing and Infrastructure Safeguards Branch
12.15 pm	Australian Small Business and Family Enterprise Ombudsman (Submission 10) The Hon. Bruce Billson, Ombudsman Ms Donna Boulton, Director, Policy & Advocacy
12.45 pm	Australian Competition and Consumer Commission Ms Sarah Proudfoot, Executive General Manager, Infrastructure Division Ms Tara Morice, General Manager, Mobiles, Transmission and Consumer Branch
1.15 pm	Lunch

RURAL AND REGIONAL AFFAIRS AND TRANSPORT REFERENCES COMMITTEE Shutdown of the 3G mobile network

2.15 pm	via teleconference: Telecommunication Industry Ombudsman (Submission 22) Ms Cynthia Gebert, Ombudsman
2.45 pm	Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts (Submission 27) Mr James Chisholm, Deputy Secretary, Communications and Media Group Ms Lisa La Rance, First Assistant Secretary, Communications Infrastructure Division Dr Jason Ashurst, Assistant Secretary, Digital Inclusion and Deployment Branch Ms Shanyn Sparreboom, Assistant Secretary, Competition and Spectrum Branch Ms Kathleen Silleri, Assistant Secretary, Consumer Safeguards Branch, Communications Services and Consumer Division First Nations Digital Inclusion Advisory Group (Submission 13) Ms Dot West OAM, Co-Chair Associate Professor Lyndon Ormond-Parker, Co-Chair
4.00 pm	Adjournment