

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Education Services for Overseas Students Amendment (Quality and Integrity) Bill 2024 [Provisions]

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 6 August 2024

Committee Room 2S3, Parliament House Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Panel 1: Group of Eight (Submission 40) Ms Vicki Thomson, Chief Executive and Director
	Regional Universities Network (Submission 24) Mr Alec Webb, Chief Executive Officer
	Universities Australia (Submission 19) Mr Luke Sheehy, Chief Executive Officer
9.45 am	Panel 2: Independent Higher Education Australia (Submission 13) Hon Dr Peter Hendy, Chief Executive Officer Dr James Hart, Policy and Research Manager
	Independent Tertiary Education Council Australia (Submission 60) Mr Felix Pirie, Deputy Chief Executive, Policy and Research
10.30 am	Break
10.45 am	National Tertiary Education Union (via videoconference) (Submission 31) Dr Terri MacDonald, Director, Public Policy and Strategic Research Mr Kieran McCarron, Policy and Research Officer
11.30 am	Panel 3: Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (Submission 36) Dr Jodie Trembath, Director of Skills, Employment and Small Business
	Business Council of Australia (via videoconference) (Submission 20) Ms Wendy Black, Executive Director, Policy
12.15 pm	Lunch
1.00 pm	National Union of Students Ms Ngaire Bogemann, National President Mr Janageeth Logeswaran, Student President, Flinders University Student Association

1.45 pm	 Panel 4: Australian National University (Submission 62) Professor Genevieve Bell AO, Vice-Chancellor and President Monash University (Submission 23) Professor Sharon Pickering, Vice-Chancellor and President University of Melbourne (Submission 46) Professor Duncan Maskell, Vice-Chancellor University of Tasmania Professor Rufus Black, Vice-Chancellor and President
2.30 pm	 Panel 5: Charles Darwin University (via videoconference) (Submission 8) Professor Scott Bowman AO, Vice-Chancellor and President University of Adelaide and University of South Australia (Submission 30) Professor Jennie Shaw, Deputy-Vice Chancellor and Vice-President (Academic), University of Adelaide Professor Jessica Gallagher, Deputy-Vice Chancellor (External Engagement), University of Adelaide (via videoconference) Ms Gabrielle Rolan, Pro Vice Chancellor: International, University of South Australia (via videoconference) University of Queensland (via videoconference) (Submission 18) Professor Deborah Terry AC, Vice-Chancellor and President Dr Clare Hourigan, Director of Planning and Business Intelligence
3.15 pm	Break
3.30 pm	Law Council of Australia (Submission 61) Ms Carina Ford, Chair, Migration Law Committee Ms Lena Hung, Member, Migration Law Committee Ms Jessica Neal, Senior Policy Lawyer
4.15 pm	Department of Home Affairs (Submission 3) Ms Tara Cavanagh, Group Manager, Immigration Policy, Immigration Group Mr Damien Kilner, First Assistant Secretary, Immigration Programs Division, Immigration Group
5.00 pm	Adjournment