

## LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

## Right wing extremist movements in Australia

## PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 24 July 2024

## **Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra**

Time	Witness
8.45 am	Universities Australia (Submission 12) Mr Luke Sheehy, Chief Executive Officer (via videoconference)
9.30 am	Panel: Queensland University of Technology (Submission 6) Dr John Byron, Principal Policy Adviser
	<b>Dr Jordan McSwiney, Dr Imogen Richards, Dr Kurt Sengul, Callum Jones, and</b> <b>Cam Smith</b> ( <i>Submission 18</i> )
10.30 am	Challenging Racism Project (Submission 43) Dr Rachel Sharples, Lecturer - Social Sciences
11.15 am	Morning tea
11.30 am	ANU Law Reform and Social Justice Research Hub (Submission 20) Ms Jae Brieffies, Student Researcher Ms Adeline Toohey, Student Researcher Ms Lolade Ogunbambi, Student Researcher Mr Benjamin Archibald, Student Researcher Ms Esther Bornstein, Student Researcher
12.15 pm	Dr John Coyne, Mr Henry Campbell, Ms Angela Suriyasnee, and Mr Justin Bassi, Australian Strategic Policy Institute (ASPI) (via videoconference) (Submiss ion 22)
1.00 pm	Lunch
1.30 pm	<i>Panel:</i> Islamophobia Register Australia Mrs Mariam Veiszadeh, Founder and Chair (via videoconference)
	Australian Muslim Advocacy Network Ms Rita Jabri Markwell, Legal Advisor (via videoconference)
2.30 pm	NSW Council for Civil Liberties (Submission 21) Ms Lydia Shelly, President (via videoconference) Mr Stephen Blanks, Executive Committee Member (via videoconference)
3.15 pm	Afternoon tea

3.30 pm	Australian Human Rights Commission (Submission 14)Mr Giridharan Sivaraman, Race Discrimination Commissioner (via videoconference)Ms Nazeeha Jacobs, Policy Advisor (via videoconference)
4.15 pm	Counter Extremism Project (Submission 3) Mr Alexander Ritzmann, Senior Advisor (via videoconference) Mr Joshua Fisher-Birch, Content Review Specialist/Researcher (via videoconference)
5.00 pm	Panel:Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (ASIO) (Submission 7)Mr Mike Burgess, Director-General of Security
	Department of Home Affairs (Submission 8) Mr Nathan Smyth, Deputy Secretary National Security and Resilience Gemma Smyth, First Assistant Secretary, Counter-Terrorism Coordination Centre, National Security and Resilience Group Mr Alexander Goldie, Assistant Secretary, Countering Violent Extremism, National Security and Resilience Group
	Attorney-General's Department (Submission 16) Ms Brooke Hartigan, First Assistant Secretary - Security and Counter-Terrorism Division
	Australian Federal Police (AFP) (Submission 27) Acting Deputy Commissioner Alison Wegg, Acting Deputy Commissioner National Security Acting Assistant Commissioner Thomas Hester, Acting Assistant Commissioner Counter Terrorism and Special Investigations Command
6.30 pm	Adjournment